The Waitresses Just Desserts: The Complete Waitresses (2-CD)

Just Desserts: The Complete Waitresses (2-CD)
Price: $18.88
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  38AJH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Omnivore Recordings

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.No Guilt
  • 2.Wise Up
  • 3.Quit
  • 4.It's My Car
  • 5.Wasn't Tomorrow Wonderful?
  • 6.I Know What Boys Like
  • 7.Heat Night
  • 8.Redland
  • 9.Pussy Strut
  • 10.Go On
  • 11.Jimmy Tomorrow
  • 12.Christmas Wrapping
  • 13.Bread And Butter
  • 14.Square Pegs (Theme Song From The Embassy Television Series Square Pegs)
  • 15.The Smartest Person I Know
  • 16.I Could Rule The World If I Could Only Get The Parts
  • 17.Hangover 1/1/83

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Girl's Gotta Do
  • 2.Make The Weather
  • 3.Everything's Wrong If My Hair Is Wrong
  • 4.Luxury
  • 5.Open City
  • 6.Thinking About Sex Again
  • 7.Bruiseology
  • 8.Pleasure
  • 9.Spin
  • 10.They're All Out Of Liquor, Let's Find Another Party
  • 11.Bruiseology (Alternate Version)
  • 12.Bread And Butter (Remix)
  • 13.Bread And Butter (Dub Mix)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Recording information: Electric Lady, New York, NY; The Manor; The Town House; Westwood One, Perking Place, CA.
To the masses, Akron-based new wave group the Waitresses were always a weird duck since they were a one-hit wonder (the snarky, funky, and deadpan "I Know What Boys Like") with the caveat of a Christmas hit, one that was equally novelty and heartwarming ("Christmas Wrapping"). They were equally perplexing for the era's music nerds, bringing together all those '80s Ohio elements in their music (the elevated kitsch commentary of Devo, the future blues-rock sound of the legendary Numbers Band, and some actual members of Tin Huey), but crafting it all in such a way that was classic album rock & roll, where dramatic horn arrangements and tension-building song structures were crafts worth exploring. The band's career arc involves a smart, fresh, and danceable blow against the empire (the 1982 album Wasn't Tomorrow Wonderful?, with "Boys Like" included), one EP's worth of basking in the glory (that same year's I Could Rule the World If I Could Only Get the Parts, featuring the theme from the '80s sitcom Square Pegs), plus a well-crafted album filled with angst and grown-up problems that stiffed and forced a band breakup (1983's Bruiseology). All of it is included on this welcome set from Omnivore, from the infectious girl-meets-mundane-world kickoff called "No Guilt" ("The 31st is when I pay the phone bill/I told 'em I don't even know anyone in Toronto!") to Bruiseology's wailing and rocking title cut (a prophetic number with "And then you hit me with the hard facts/Then everything cracks and it's Bruiseology" seeming precog). Along the way the collection delivers B-52's-ish fun and B-52's-ish cool party numbers ("Heat Night," "Everything's Wrong If My Hair Is Wrong"), snide commentary over new wave beats ("A Girl's Gotta Do," "Quit"), plus some moments that are smart pop, pure and simple ("Bread and Butter," "Make the Weather"). Bandleader and lead songwriter Chris Butler provides the band's story in the booklet, including the sad fact that singer Patty Donahue passed away in 1996 due to lung cancer. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Waitresses

Product Info

  • UPC: 816651015511
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)