Songs of The Lincoln & International Brigades And Southern Mountain Hoedown
by Various Artists

Songs of The Lincoln & International Brigades And
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5606
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

An historic compilation of international brigade songs born of the Spanish Civil War and Freedom Fighters around the world. The second half of this twenty-two track compilation consists of toe-tapping old-time mountain instrumental and dance tunes.


  • 1.Peat-Bog Soldiers
  • 2.Freedom
  • 3.Quinte Regimento
  • 4.Spanish Marching Song
  • 5.Song Of The International Brigades
  • 6.Four Insurgent
  • 7.Quinte Brigada
  • 8.Cook House
  • 9.Han's Beimler
  • 10.Song Of The United Front
  • 11.Quartermaster Song
  • 12.Jarama Valley
  • 13.Ida Red
  • 14.Fiddle Breakdown
  • 15.Old Dan Tucker
  • 16.Hoe Cakes Fritter
  • 17.Cripple Creek
  • 18.Sally Gooden
  • 19.Salty Dog Breakdown
  • 20.Buffalo Gals
  • 21.Joe Clark
  • 22.Froggy Went-A Courting

Product Description:

Reissue label Collectables here combines on one CD two albums originally released as 10" LPs in 1953 by Stinson Records, Songs of the Lincoln and International Brigades and Southern Mountain Hoedowns. (Somewhere along the way, the words "Brigades" and "Hoedowns" have become singular.) Actually, the former album was itself a reissue of two earlier albums released as collections of 78-rpm discs in the 1940s. One was German actor/singer Ernst Busch's recordings of five songs of the International Brigades that fought in the Spanish Civil War ("The Peat-Bog Soldiers," "Freedom," "Song of the International Brigades," "Han's Beimler," and "Song of the United Front"). These are anthemic numbers sung largely in German with a theatrical tone, and they may remind some listeners of the songs of Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht (which should not be surprising, since Busch starred in The Threepenny Opera). Six other songs interspersed with them ("Quinte Regimento," "Spanish Marching Song," "The Four Insurgent Generals," "Quinte Brigada," "Cook House," and "Quartermaster Song") were recorded in the early '40s by a group of American folksingers, most of whom were former members of the Almanac Singers: Pete Seeger, Tom Glazer, Baldwin "Butch" Hawes, and Bess Lomax, and they concern the Abraham Lincoln Brigade, which consisted of Americans who volunteered to fight in the war. Seeger plays the banjo, with guitar and/or mandolin sometimes audible. Four of the six are in Spanish, with only "Cook House" and "Quartermaster Song" sung in English. These songs are equally stirring and in some cases have the biting tone of the Almanac Singers' material. The 12th track is a solo performance by Woody Guthrie, accompanying himself on guitar on an original song, "Jarama Valley," which recounts a defeat of the Loyalist forces that Guthrie succeeds in turning into a triumph of the spirit. This track serves as a segue to the second LP contained on the CD, tracks 13-22, which consists of traditional country tunes performed in an offhand manner by Guthrie (who alternately plays guitar, fiddle, and mandolin) with his friends Cisco Houston (guitar) and Sonny Terry (harmonica). Along with the Lincoln Brigade songs, these tracks were recorded by Moses Asch in the 1940s for his Asch and Disc Records labels, but Asch lost control of the master recordings in a dispute with Stinson Records, which is why they are not part of Asch's collection of Folkways recordings since purchased by the Smithsonian and available on Smithsonian Folkways. (There is a similar Folkways album, however, Songs of the Spanish Civil War, Vol. 1.) The sound quality is questionable, with lots of surface noise, but these are historic recordings of some powerful material by accomplished performers intent upon recalling a forgotten war that served as a prelude to World War II and some of the brave participants who came from other countries to fight. And if Guthrie's performances as a traditional country artist are not up to the level of his original compositions, they nevertheless have a casual charm. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431560624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)