Barclay James Harvest Barclay James Harvest and Other Short Stories [UK Bonus Tracks]

Barclay James Harvest and Other Short Stories [UK
4 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WWJ3
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 27, 2002
  • Label: Caroline

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/02, p.130
4 stars out of 5 - "...Dreamy yet focused, with clear Crosby Stills & Nash influences..."


  • 1.Medicine Man - (studio)
  • 2.Someone There You Know - (studio)
  • 3.Harry's Song - (studio)
  • 4.Ursula (The Swansea Song) - (studio)
  • 5.Little Lapwing - (studio)
  • 6.Song With No Meaning - (studio)
  • 7.Blue John's Blues - (studio)
  • 8.Poet, The - (studio)
  • 9.After the Day - (studio)
  • 10.Brave New World (Demo) - (studio)
  • 11.She Said (BBC Session) - (studio)
  • 12.Galadriel (BBC Session) - (studio)
  • 13.Ursula (The Swansea Song) (BBC Session) - (studio)
  • 14.Someone There You Know (BBC Session) - (studio)
  • 15.Medicine Man (BBC Session) - (studio)

Product Description:

The fourth album by gentle U.K. folk-psych-prog group Barclay James Harvest, 1972's BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST AND OTHER SHORT STORIES features "Song With No Meaning" and "The Poet."
British remaster includes six extra songs, including a complete BBC session from 1972.
CD contains 6 bonus tracks.
Photographer: Pete Vernon.
Like the work of Buffalo Springfield or the Moody Blues in the first go 'round, you'll need to take it on faith that the Baroque touches on Barclay James Harvest and Other Stories were effective for their time. The fuzzed guitars, Mellotron, bongos, heavy orchestration and dreamy arrangements may sound stilted today, but strip them away (or simply acquiesce to enjoy them) and a very good collection of songs reveals itself. There are obvious nods to the Beatles ("Blue John Blues," "Medicine Man") and the Moodies (the lovely "Ursula"), but that's a fait accompli on any Barclay James Harvest album. Although the album doesn't really tell any stories (an optimistic acceptance of mortality comes into play on a couple of tracks), the band does aspire to bigger things on the aptly titled "The Poet." The only knock on this album (and it pertains to Barclay James Harvest in general) is that you wish they aspired to more. The classical arrangements are stunning, and when the band musters a big orchestral ending for a song like "Little Lapwing," you can't help but wonder how much better it would have been if they'd invoked it sooner. Musically the band is solid; Mel Pritchard's Ringo-isms on the drums are especially neat, while John Lees gets in some nice distorted guitar parts and Stewart Wooly Wolstenholme steals the show when the Mellotron comes into play. The epic "After the Day" closes things on a high note, ending with an explosion that announces all bets are off. Barclay James Harvest and Other Stories is itself a high note in the band's early catalog and worth a flyer for anyone interested in the band's oeuvre. [The 2002 EMI CD reissue included six bonus tracks, five of which were previously unreleased.] ~ Dave Connolly

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Barclay James Harvest

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353840723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)