Tony Bennett I Wanna Be Around

I Wanna Be Around
Only 4 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 73307
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 27, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.The Good Life [from the film "The Seven Capital Sins"]
  • 2.If I Love Again
  • 3.I Wanna Be Around
  • 4.I've Got Your Number [from the Broadway production "Little Me"]
  • 5.Until I Met You
  • 6.Let's Face the Music and Dance
  • 7.Once Upon a Summertime
  • 8.If You Were Mine
  • 9.I Will Live My Life For You
  • 10.Someone To Love
  • 11.It Was Me
  • 12.Quiet Nights (Corcovado)
  • 13.If I Love Again [Alternate Version]
  • 14.Someone To Love [Alternate Version]
  • 15.Indian Summer

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Tony Bennett (vocals); Marty Manning, Ralph Burns (conductor); The Ralph Sharon Trio.
Reissue producer: Didier C. Deutsch.
Recorded at CBS 30th Street Studios, New York between 1962 and 1963. Tracks 1-11 originally released as I WANNA BE AROUND..., Columbia Records (CS 8800) and tracks 12-18 originally released on THIS IS ALL I ASK, Columbia Records (CS 8856).
This is part of Columbia Records' Tony Bennett Master series.
Arranger: Marty Manning.
After his 1962 signature hit "I Left My Heart In San Francisco," Tony Bennett released a string of superb albums, of which I WANNA BE AROUND was the first. The title tune was a smart followup hit to "San Francisco," with similar Ralph Sharon piano obbligato throughout but an altogether tougher feeling expressed. It's a loser's lament, but Bennett, flush with success, gives Johnny Mercer's bitter lyric a heady, exuberant spin.
The opening track "The Good Life" sets the tone for the rest--contemporary, mostly international songs reflecting freedom, openness, "authenticity." Michel Legrand's "Once Upon A Summertime" and Jobim's "Quiet Nights" are standouts in this category, the latter still the best version of "Corcovado" in English. Marty Manning's arrangements are particularly fresh. It should be mentioned that I WANNA BE AROUND is one of the Tony Bennett Master Series, remastered in excellent sound with additional bonus tracks.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tony Bennett

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,572
  • UPC: 888837330725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Pop Vocal: Show Vocals Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)