New Lost City Ramblers Old Time Music (Live)

Old Time Music (Live)
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JED3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 7, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Introduction: Mike Seeger
  • 2.Leather Britches
  • 3.Free Little Bird
  • 4.My Name Is John Johanna
  • 5.Jesse James
  • 6.Bow Down
  • 7.Stone's Rag
  • 8.Gold Watch and Chain
  • 9.Worried Man Blues
  • 10.Little Darlin' Pal of Mine
  • 11.Wildwood Flower
  • 12.Sally Johnson
  • 13.Little Birdie
  • 14.Sail Away Ladies
  • 15.Pretty Little Miss Out in the Garden
  • 16.Old Tim Brooks
  • 17.Pretty Little Miss Out in the Garden
  • 18.Lost John
  • 19.Chilly Winds
  • 20.Wish I Was a Single Girl Again
  • 21.Waterbound
  • 22.Needlecase
  • 23.Roll On Buddy
  • 24.Bowling Green
  • 25.San Antonio Rose
  • 26.The Old Gospel Ship
  • 27.Train 45
  • 28.Oh Death
  • 29.Weapon of Prayer
  • 30.Black Jack Davey
  • 31.This World Is Not My Home

Product Description:

& Friends.
New Lost City Ramblers: John Cohen (vocals, guitar, banjo); Tracy Schwarz (vocals, guitar, fiddle, acoustic bass); Mike Seeger (vocals, lap dulcimer, mandolin, banjo, fiddle, autoharp, harmonica).
Additional personnel: Sam McGee, Maybelle Carter (vocals, guitar); Cousin Emmy, Kirk McGee, Dock Boggs, Roscoe Holcomb (vocals, banjo).
Recorded live at the Newport Folk Festival, Newport, Rhode Island between 1963 and 1965. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin.
This is part of the Newport Folk Festival Classics series.
Personnel: Cousin Emmy (vocals, guitar, banjo, harmonica, hand claps); John Cohen (vocals, guitar, banjo); Mother Maybelle Carter (vocals, guitar, autoharp); Tracy Schwarz (vocals, guitar, fiddle, acoustic bass); Sam McGee (vocals, guitar); Mike Seeger (vocals, banjo, dulcimer, autoharp, mandolin, fiddle, harmonica); Dock Boggs, Kirk McGee, Roscoe Holcomb (vocals, banjo); Eck Robertson (fiddle).
Audio Mixer: Captain Jeff Zaraya.
Liner Note Author: Mary Katherine Aldin.
Recording information: Newport Folk Festivals, Newport, RI (1963-1965).
Photographer: Joe Alper.
The New Lost City Ramblers were instrumental in bridging the gap between the young urban folk musicians of the early '60s, who embraced the form and feel of old-time American music, and the last of the great rural singers and players who had actually grown up with the music in its original incarnation. The Ramblers were careful to stay true to the intent and execution of this precious musical resource, and nowhere is this more evident than on this disc of highlights from their appearances at the Newport Folk Festival between 1963 and 1965. The Ramblers (John Cohen, Mike Seeger, and then newcomer Tracy Schwarz, who had just replaced Tom Paley in the group) serve as a sort of house band for a host of old-time music legends on these tracks, introducing or backing up in various combinations the likes of Cousin Emmy, Maybelle Carter, Eck Robertson, Roscoe Holcomb, Sam & Kirk McGee, and Dock Boggs. The end result is a wonderful and seamless concert of timeless American music that is as much an introduction to the music itself as it is a New Lost City Ramblers album. Highlights include Cohen's rugged solo take on "My Name Is John Johanna"; Seeger's lovely lap dulcimer piece, "Waterbound"; Cousin Emmy's romping "Bowling Green"; and Maybelle Carter's rendition of her signature tune, "Wildwood Flower." Also impressive is Roscoe Holcomb's galloping banjo and trademark keening vocal on "Little Birdie" and a huge, rumbling, and ominous version of "Oh Death" by the incomparable Dock Boggs. As a document of a time and place that will surely never come again, Old Time Music is a treasure, and listeners can be thankful that the Ramblers were there to help stitch it all together, working as a seamless bridge between the old and the reimagined. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for New Lost City Ramblers

Product Info

  • UPC: 015707701129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)