Glenn Yarbrough The Chicago Tapes: Second Set (Live)

The Chicago Tapes: Second Set (Live)
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JE9D
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 27, 2001
  • Label: Folk Era Records


  • 1.There's a Meeting Here Tonight
  • 2.All That Loot
  • 3.Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
  • 4.Easy Now
  • 5.The Irish Medley: Minsterl Boy/ Rising of the Moon / Gypsy Rover/ Whiskey in: Minstrel Boy / Rising Of The Moon / Gypsy Rover / Whiskey In The Jar
  • 6.Fielding Questions
  • 7.Heaven Help Me for the Way I Am
  • 8.Handcuffs off My Heart
  • 9.Running Debate
  • 10.City of New Orleans
  • 11.Gari Gari
  • 12.Thank You Lord
  • 13.Be Happy
  • 14.Our Last Song Together

Product Description:

& The Limeliters.
Glenn Yarbrough & The Limelighters: Glenn Yarbrough (vocals, guitar); Alex Hassliev (vocals, guitar, banjo); Lou Gottlieb (vocals, bass).
Additional personnel: Brian Davies (acoustic & electric guitars, banjo); Gary Clontz (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Mike Settle (acoustic guitar, harmonica, background vocals); Geoffrey Pike (piano, synthesizer, background vocals); Gordon Curry (electric bass, background vocals); Jacqueline Furman (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Recorded at First Chicago Center, Chicago, Illinois on August 14, 1976. Includes liner notes by Tim West.
All tracks are digitally remastered.
Folk groups have at least one distinct advantage over rock & roll bands when it comes to reunions: They may have to change the key a song was sung in, but it still resembles the original. The Limeliters easily recapture the glory of yesteryear on The Chicago Tapes: Second Set, a live date recorded -- of all places -- in the basement of a bank in 1976 (think Bicentennial). Lou Gottlieb, Alex Hassilev, and Glenn Yarbrough offer their unique blend of wit and charisma as though they'd never parted ways in the mid-'60s. The set kicks off with the lively "There's a Meeting Here Tonight" and a full-band version of "Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven." Yarbrough goes solo on "Easy Now," showing off his beautiful tenor and romantic sensibility. "The Irish Medley" succeeds by taking ten minutes to cover four classic songs, avoiding the short shrift treatment that usually accompanies such mixtures. There's a funny little section titled "Fielding Questions," interesting because of the interplay between the band who seems to enjoy one another's company. "Heaven Help Me for the Way I Am" has a fuller arrangement, perhaps a little noisy for "folk music," but this is redeemed by the satirical country song, "Handcuffs of My Heart" and Hassilev's superb version of "City of New Orleans." The contents of this album follows The Chicago Tapes: First Set, and if listeners like one, they will like the other. Fans of the Limeliters who long for the good old days of the Folk Revival will not want to miss it. ~ Ronnie Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Glenn Yarbrough

Product Info

  • UPC: 045507145922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)