Mighty Diamonds Pass the Knowledge: Reggae Anthology (2-CD + DVD)

Pass the Knowledge: Reggae Anthology (2-CD + DVD)
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  389A8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 27, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: VP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Back Weh (You No Mafia)
  • 2.Right Time
  • 3.Have Mercy
  • 4.Just Can't Figure Out
  • 5.Jah Jah Bless the Dreadlocks
  • 6.Jail House
  • 7.Cat-O'-Nine
  • 8.Africa
  • 9.Shame & Pride
  • 10.Country Living
  • 11.I Need a Roof
  • 12.Ghetto Living
  • 13.Identity
  • 14.Gypsy Woman
  • 15.Keep on Moving
  • 16.Just Like a River
  • 17.Let Jah Sun Shine
  • 18.Swell Headed [Dubplate]
  • 19.I Want to Know [Dubplate]
  • 20.Rocky Road [Dubplate]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pass the Kouchie
  • 2.Bodyguard
  • 3.Struggling
  • 4.Gates of Zion
  • 5.Brother Man
  • 6.Morgan the Pirate
  • 7.Eyes on Africa
  • 8.Jah Will Work It Out
  • 9.Pray to Thee
  • 10.Tamarind Farm
  • 11.Mr. Chin Slippers
  • 12.Pass the Knowledge
  • 13.Let the Dollar Circulate
  • 14.Heads of Government
  • 15.Fight It Out There
  • 16.Party Time
  • 17.Hypocrites [Dubplate]
  • 18.Survival [Dubplate]
  • 19.Lovely Lady
  • 20.The Last Dance

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Right Time [DVD]
  • 2.Have Mercy [DVD]
  • 3.Natural Natty [DVD]
  • 4.Pass the Kutchie [DVD]
  • 5.There Is No Me Without You [DVD]

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Harry Wise.
A trio consisting of Donald "Tabby" Shaw, Fitzroy "Bunny" Simpson, and Lloyd "Judge" Ferguson, the Mighty Diamonds are Jamaica's longest-running vocal group still active with the original members, delivering the same smooth, easy-rocking, and thoughtful harmonies for some 40 years now. It comes as a bit of a surprise, then, that this three-disc set (two CDs and a DVD) from VP Records is the first real career-spanning anthology of the trio's key tracks to hit the 21st century digital world. Covering the Diamonds' peak years from 1975 to 1986, and featuring productions done over those years by the likes of Gussie Clarke, Joseph Hoo-Kim, Donovan Germain, Tappa Zukie, Ossie Hibbert, Errol Thompson, Junior Booth, and Joe Gibbs, among others, along with rare dubplate versions of "Hypocrite" and "Survival," this woefully overdue compilation simply underscores what fans of vintage reggae roots music have always known, that these guys are simply one of the best vocal groups the island ever produced. The Diamonds' most essential sides are here, including the genre classics "Right Time," "Have Mercy," "I Need a Roof," and "Pass the Kouchie," and track after track glides by full of sharp, crisp rhythms and those trademark velvet-smooth and laid-back harmonies, even as the songs serve witness to poverty and desperation with defiant ghetto pride, determination, and the sly certainty of redemption. The DVD included in this package contains a delightful concert film from 1992 of the Diamonds live at Reggae Sunsplash. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mighty Diamonds

Product Info

  • UPC: 054645501026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)