Tom Paxton The Very Best of Tom Paxton

The Very Best of Tom Paxton
12 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V68R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 1, 1989
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd


  • 1.Ramblin' Boy
  • 2.Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  • 3.When You Shook Your Long Hair Down
  • 4.Katy
  • 5.Outward Bound
  • 6.The Marvellous Toy
  • 7.Wasn't That a Party
  • 8.Peace Will Come
  • 9.Leaving London
  • 10.Bottle of Wine
  • 11.Jennifer's Rabbit
  • 12.My Lady's a Wild Flying Dove
  • 13.Goin' to the Zoo
  • 14.Whose Garden Was This
  • 15.Jimmy Newman
  • 16.The Last Thing on My Mind

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Paxton (vocals, guitar); Archie Fisher (guitar); Dave Swarbrick (fiddle); Danny Thompson (bass guitar).
Liner Note Author: Tom Paxton.
This is the good stuff, the songs that made Tom Paxton's name on the early 1960s Greenwich Village folk scene. Not politically impassioned enough to be Phil Ochs, although the hymn-like "Peace Will Come" is a moving anti-war anthem, nor as inscrutably poetic as Bob Dylan, Paxton remained a second-string figure to the masses who casually followed the collegiate folk boom of the time. But to those in the know, Paxton has always been considered one of the greats. Owner of a homely, unprepossessing voice that's nonetheless a subtle and varied instrument, Paxton exudes an aw-shucks informality and endearing casualness on even his most "produced" tracks. Although most of these songs feature only Paxton and his guitar, guests include Scottish folk legend Archie Fisher, Fairport fiddler Dave Swarbrick and the always-remarkable bassist Danny Thompson. The song selection covers Paxton's '60s and early '70s output; it's a very good anthology, but there are plenty more gems to be found on Paxton's many albums.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tom Paxton

Product Info

  • UPC: 018964051921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)