Goldfrapp The Singles

The Singles
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3895F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Astralwerks

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut (magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his collection is ample testament to one of the last great English avant-pop careers."


  • 1.Ooh La La
  • 2.Number 1
  • 3.Strict Machine - (remix)
  • 4.Lovely Head
  • 5.Utopia - (remix)
  • 6.A&E
  • 7.Happiness
  • 8.Train
  • 9.Ride a White Horse
  • 10.Rocket
  • 11.Believer
  • 12.Black Cherry
  • 13.Yellow Halo
  • 14.Melancholy Sky

Product Description:

Recording information: Abbey Road Studios.
Arranger: Goldfrapp.
Goldfrapp spanned luxe John Barry-style orchestral pop to dominatrix dancefloor moves to summery British folk and more over the course of their albums, but The Singles shows that their craftsmanship and good taste may have been their most defining quality. That, and Alison Goldfrapp's stunning voice, which was flexible enough to not just fit any mold that her and Will Gregory's ideas required, but to redefine them; listen to her soaring highs and cooing lows on "Utopia" for a reminder. While the duo's glam-disco hits like the sexy, low-slung "Ooh La La," "Train," and "Strict Machine" may have been most popular, The Singles is admirably egalitarian, a point emphasized by how its sequencing puts songs from different albums and eras side by side. Hearing the timeless-feeling dark romanticism of Felt Mountain tracks such as "Lovely Head" next to the introspective, flower child, synth pop of The Seventh Tree's "A&E," and the spot-on '80s homage "Rocket" from Head First reaffirms that Goldfrapp were keen students of pop music of all styles and eras, but vibrantly creative in their own right. Their style-hopping sounds less like searching for what will stick and more like the product of two restlessly creative artists who had the talent to do just about anything they wanted and tried a little of everything. While it's disappointing that a few singles aren't here ("Pilots" and "Satin Chic" are particularly glaring omissions), the inclusion of two previously unreleased tracks makes up for that, especially since the reflective "Yellow Halo" and seductive "Melancholy Sky" rival the quality of any of their album tracks. ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Goldfrapp

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099930116726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)