Odetta The Tradition Masters (2-CD)

The Tradition Masters (2-CD)
-28% OFF
Rating 4.5
4 ratings
CYBER MONDAY SALE: $19.22 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  V68J
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium Shipping

Related products:

Cyber Monday

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 3, 2002
  • Label: Tradition Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Santy Anno
  • 2.If I Had a Ribbon Bow
  • 3.Mule Skinner Blues
  • 4.Another Man Done Gone
  • 5.Shame and Scandal
  • 6.Jack O' Diamonds
  • 7.'Buked and Scorned
  • 8.Easy Rider
  • 9.Joshua
  • 10.Hound Dog
  • 11.Glory, Glory
  • 12.Alabama Bound
  • 13.Been in the Pen
  • 14.Deep Blue Sea
  • 15.God's Gonna Cut You Down
  • 16.Spiritual Trilogy Medley: Oh Freedom / Come and Go With Me / I'm on My Way: Oh Freedom / Come And Go With Me / I'm On My Way

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Gallows Tree (Gallows Pole)
  • 2.Lowlands
  • 3.The Fox
  • 4.Maybe She Go
  • 5.Midnight Special
  • 6.Deep River
  • 7.Chilly Winds
  • 8.Greensleeves
  • 9.Devilish Mary
  • 10.Take This Hammer
  • 11.He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
  • 12.Sail Away Ladies
  • 13.Lass of the Low Country
  • 14.Timber
  • 15.Pretty Horses

Product Description:

Personnel: Odetta (vocals, guitar); Bill Lee (acoustic bass).
Includes liner notes by Jim Bessman.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of Tradition's Master Series.
Personnel: Odetta (vocals, guitar); Bill Lee (acoustic bass).
Audio Remasterer: Marco Marinangeli.
Liner Note Author: Jim Bessman.
Arranger: Odetta.
While Odetta is usually lumped in with other revival artists, she actually began performing in the late '40s and had recorded her first album by 1956, a couple of years before the folk boom started. Her stripped-down style and powerful vocals also differed markedly from many revival practitioners, reminding one more of Leadbelly than Joan Baez. This connection is strengthened by the inclusion of pieces like "Midnight Special" and "Take This Hammer" in her repertoire. The Tradition Masters reissues Sings Ballads and Blues (1956) and At the Gate of Horn (1957) in a two-disc set, providing an excellent overview of Odetta's early work. Both sets are fairly straightforward, with her vocals supported by her persistent guitar strum on Sings Ballads and Blues and the addition of Bill Lee's bass on At the Gate of Horn. The most important element, though, is always Odetta's resonant vocals. Whether singing blues, spirituals, or straight folk, she delivers the lyrics with religious fever, as though she inhabited the words. Her approach also invigorates familiar fare like "Greensleeves" and "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands," reminding the listener how good these songs are. It's also illustrative to compare her deep-interpretive approach to a lullaby like "Pretty Horses" with later, "sweetened" versions of the song by groups like Peter, Paul & Mary. The Tradition Masters is a good place to immerse oneself in Odetta's authoritative versions of classic folk material. Old fans, unfamiliar with her early music, will likewise want to pick up a copy. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Odetta

Product Info:

  • UPC: 600491108522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Blues genre: