Odetta One Grain of Sand

One Grain of Sand
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JE5G
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 23, 1997
  • Label: Vanguard Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.112
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his ranks with her best, accompanied by Bill Lee, whose delicate basslines perfectly offset her more strident guitar."


  • 1.Sail Away, Ladies
  • 2.Moses, Moses
  • 3.Midnight Special
  • 4.Rambler-Gambler
  • 5.Cotton Fields
  • 6.Roll On, Buddy
  • 7.Ain't No Grave
  • 8.Special Delivery Blues
  • 9.Rambling Round Your City
  • 10.Boll Weevil
  • 11.Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
  • 12.She Moved Through the Fair
  • 13.Cool Water
  • 14.One Grain of Sand

Product Description:

Personnel: Odetta (guitar); Bill Lee (bass instrument).
By the time the independent folk label Vanguard Records got around to releasing its sixth Odetta album, One Grain of Sand, in 1963, the singer had already decamped to RCA Victor and released her major-label debut, Sometimes I Feel Like Cryin', in 1962. But One Grain of Sand is not just a collection of outtakes assembled to fulfill a contract and take revenge on a departed artist. It finds Odetta accompanying herself as usual on acoustic guitar and joined by Bill Lee on string bass, putting her inimitable stamp on a good set of traditional folk songs along with numbers associated with Leadbelly, Woody Guthrie, and Pete Seeger. She also brings in spirituals, blues, and even country on a cover of "Cool Water." But, given her distinctive vocal approach, every song from every genre becomes an Odetta song, with her contralto finding unusual depths of feeling in even the lighter fare. It might be argued that, in the early '60s, partially because of record company machinations, Odetta had a glut of LPs in release. But when even a minor one displays such quality, it's hard to complain. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Odetta

Product Info

  • UPC: 015707215329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)