Odetta Livin' with the Blues

Livin' with the Blues
1 rating
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JE5E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 18, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor
  • 2.Mean and Evil - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Livin' With the Blues
  • 4.Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  • 5.House of the Rising Sun
  • 6.Empty Pocket Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Fare Thee Well - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Rosie - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Special Delivery Blues
  • 10.Down on Me
  • 11.Another Man Done Gone
  • 12.Jumpin' Judy
  • 13.Timber
  • 14.Rambler Gambler
  • 15.Sail Away, Ladies
  • 16.Midnight Special
  • 17.Rambling Round Your City
  • 18.Bald Headed Woman
  • 19.Ain't No Grave
  • 20.Roll On, Buddy

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Odetta (guitar); Bille Lee (bass).
Includes liner notes by John Milward.
Personnel: Odetta (guitar).
Liner Note Author: John Milward.
Photographer: Ray Flerlage.
If any female vocalist should be compared to Leadbelly, it's Odetta. Like Leadbelly, Odetta has long had one foot in folk and the other in the blues. The singer did some of her most compelling work for Vanguard in the '60s, and her Vanguard output is the focus of Livin' With The Blues. Released in 2000, this collection focuses on Odetta's Vanguard recordings of the early '60s and paints a consistently attractive picture of her artistry. Most of the songs on this CD (which contains material from the albums Odetta at Town Hall, My Eyes Have Seen, and One Grain of Sand, along with a few rarities) don't actually have a 12-bar blues format -- this is essentially a folk collection, but it's a folk collection that never loses the feeling of the blues. Whether Odetta accompanies herself on acoustic guitar on "Jumpin' Judy," "Rambler Gambler," and "Bald Headed Woman," or becomes a piano-playing vocalist on performances of "House of the Rising Sun" and "Lovin' With The Blues," the earthy, big-voiced singer provides a wealth of blues feeling throughout this superb collection. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Odetta

Product Info

  • UPC: 015707955720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)