Fairport Convention Moat on the Ledge: Live at Broughton Castle

Moat on the Ledge: Live at Broughton Castle
2 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JE3A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Eagle Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Walk Awhile
  • Buy for $1.292.Country Pie
  • Buy for $0.993.Rosie
  • Buy for $1.294.Matty Groves
  • Buy for $0.995.Both Sides Now
  • Buy for $0.996.Poor Will & The Jolly Hangman
  • Buy for $0.997.The Brilliancy Medley / The Cherokee Shuffle
  • Buy for $0.998.Woman or a Man
  • Buy for $0.999.High School Confidential

Product Description:

Fairport Convention: Simon Nicol (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Richard Thompson (vocals, electric guitar); Dave Swarbrick (vocals, mandolin, fiddle); Dave Pegg (bass guitar, background vocals); Dave Mattacks, Bruce Rowland (drums).
Additional personnel: Judy Dyble (vocals); Ralph McTell (electric guitar).
Fairport Convention officially disbanded in 1979, only to become the hosts of a yearly folk festival/reunion concert every August in England. This album is taken from their August 15, 1981 show, featuring core original Fairport members Simon Nicol and Richard Thompson plus original female singer Judy Dyble, plus later members Dave Swarbrick, Dave Pegg, Dave Mattacks, and Bruce Rowland, and it's a good recapitulation of the band's style, with such numbers new to their repertoire as Bob Dylan's "Country Pie" and Thompson's "Woman or a Man." The presence of Dyble alone was something of a history lesson for newer fans, most of whom were scarcely aware of her participation in the group at the start, prior to Sandy Denny's joining -- Dyble even had to be introduced to the audience and her significance explained. And as with most of these "mega-Fairport" concerts, the cohesion of the players seems startling, considering the number of layers of different lineups and generations represented on-stage -- Thompson's presence is prominent, however, through his guitar playing and the raw, lean quality that his instrument brings to a performance that should have sounded a bit bloated, given the sheer number of musicians. It's precisely that quality that was missing from the band's official live release A Fairport Live Convention and its remixed version (Live Convention), and helps make this reunion so rewarding, capturing an attribute of the early band's work that only the oldest fans ever got to hear on-stage. Dyble's presence is also welcome, and the repertory -- which ranges across the group's history and extends out to folk and rock & roll standards -- is a delight as well. ~ William Ruhlmann & Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Fairport Convention

Product Info

  • UPC: 826992010922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)