Miles Davis Original Album Classics (5-CD)

Original Album Classics (5-CD)
Price: $19.87
List Price: $21.97
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  387CC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released:
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.'Round Midnight
  • 2.Ah-Leu-Cha
  • 3.All Of You
  • 4.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 5.Tadd's Delight
  • 6.Dear Old Stockholm
  • 7.Two Bass Hit
  • 8.Little Melonae
  • 9.Budo
  • 10.Sweet Sue, Just You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Springsville
  • 2.The Maids Of Cadiz
  • 3.The Duke
  • 4.My Ship
  • 5.Miles Ahead
  • 6.Blues For Pablo
  • 7.New Rhumba
  • 8.The Meaning Of The Blues
  • 9.Lament
  • 10.I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)
  • 11.Springsville
  • 12.Blues For Pablo
  • 13.Medley: The Meaning Of The Blues / Lament
  • 14.I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Dr. Jackle
  • 2.Sid's Ahead
  • 3.Two Bass Hit
  • 4.Milestones
  • 5.Billy Boy
  • 6.Straight, No Chaser
  • 7.Two Bass Hit [Alternate Take]
  • 8.Milestones [Alternate Take]
  • 9.Straight, No Chaser [Alternate Take]

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Buzzard Song
  • 2.Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  • 3.Gone
  • 4.Gone, Gone, Gone
  • 5.Summertime
  • 6.Oh Bess, Oh Where's my Bess
  • 7.Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
  • 8.Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab
  • 9.My Man's Gone Now
  • 10.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 11.Here Come De Honey Man
  • 12.I Wants To Stay Here (aka I Loves You Porgy)
  • 13.There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York
  • 14.I Loves You, Porgy (From Porgy & Bess)
  • 15.Gone [Take 4]

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Introduction By Willis Connover - (live)
  • 2.Ah-Leu-Cha - (live)
  • 3.Straight, No Chaser - (live)
  • 4.Fran-Dance - (live)
  • 5.Two Bass Hit - (live)
  • 6.Bye Bye Blackbird - (live)
  • 7.The Theme - (live)

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Andr‚ Hodier; George Avakian; Charles Edward Smith.
Photographer: Roy de Carava.
Translator: David Noakes.
These five-disc box sets issued by the German arm of Sony BMG are for the most part a fine way to reissue original recordings en masse -- unlike their American counterparts who do the sloppiest job possible. If you already have these classic '50s sides by Miles Davis with his first great quintet and with Gil Evans, then don't bother reading further. If you don't, pick up these sides with Kind of Blue and Sketches of Spain (the only complaint is that these weren't in this set instead of 58 Sessions and Miles Ahead, but there were reasons for that and some of them have to do with commerce). In any case, these are the extended versions of the albums when they were reissued definitively on CD in the 1990s and early 2000s. They contain bonus cuts not on the original CDs, the sound is warm and balanced, and each disc comes in its own case. The other cool thing is for the consumer: if you look around online, you can find these boxes dirt cheap, for about six or seven dollars a disc, which is cheaper than their domestic counterparts would be. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Miles Davis

Product Info

  • UPC: 888837430128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)