Live at Caffe Lena: Music from America's Legendary Coffeehouse (1967-2013) (3-CD)

by Various Artists
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  TPKS 2967
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Label: Tompkins Square

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Intro by Lena Spencer / Cripple Creek [1970] - Guy Carawan
  • 2.Shady Grove [1968] - Hedy West
  • 3.Intro by Lena Spencer / Holy Spirit [1974] - Sleepy John Estes
  • 4.Will The Circle Be Unbroken [1971] - Frank Wakefield
  • 5.West Virginia Mine Disaster [1969] - Jean Ritchie
  • 6.Hunt The Wren [1967] - Billy Faier
  • 7.Hit Parade of Love [1968] - The Greenbriar Boys
  • 8.O Death [1971] - Mike Seeger
  • 9.Hello Friend [1974] - Jacqui and Bridie
  • 10.Morning Again [1968] - Tom Paxton
  • 11.Little Mama [1974] - David Amram
  • 12.Reality Is Bad Enough [1971] - Patrick Sky
  • 13.Travelin' Lady [1974] - Rosalie Sorrels
  • 14.Devil's Dream [1968] - Smoky Dawson
  • 15.Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia [1974], The - Utah Phillips
  • 16.Thyme It Is A Precious Thing [1974] - Michael Cooney
  • 17.Caff? Lena [1972] - Kate McGarrigle / Roma Baran

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Intro by Lena Spencer / Gaslight Rag [1974] - Dave Van Ronk
  • 2.Mr. Bojangles [1968] - Jerry Jeff Walker
  • 3.Mama Yancey's Advice / Love With a Feeling [1968] - Barbara Dane
  • 4.Ain't Nobody Home But Me [1974] - Roy Book Binder
  • 5.Intro by Lena Spence / The Holdup [1972] - David Bromberg
  • 6.Pretty Boy Floyd [1992] - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  • 7.City of New Orleans [2010] - Arlo Guthrie
  • 8.Persecution and Restoration of Dean Moriarty [1989], The - Aztec Two-Step
  • 9.Trials Of Jonathan [1974] - Happy & Artie Traum
  • 10.It Makes No Difference [1988] - Rick Danko
  • 11.Something's Gotta Be Arranged [1989] - Paul Geremia
  • 12.S-A-V-E-D [1987] - Robin & Linda Williams
  • 13.Ramblin' Jack Elliott [1991] - John Herald
  • 14.Somos El Barco (We Are the Boat) [1985] - Pete Seeger

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Folksong [2013] - Sarah Lee Guthrie & Johnny Irion
  • 2.Wedding Song [2013] - Ana?s Mitchell
  • 3.Last Day Of The Furlough [1990], The - Bill Morrissey
  • 4.Island Of Time [1992] - Patty Larkin
  • 5.Flat Stuff [1989] - Greg Brown
  • 6.I Drink [2013] - Mary Gauthier
  • 7.Old Black Dodge [2013] - Sean Rowe
  • 8.Cats In The Cradle [1987] - Tom Chapin
  • 9.Intro by Lena Spencer / It's A Good Thing He Can't Read My Mind [1987] - Christine Lavin
  • 10.Sweet Wyoming Home [1990] - Bill Staines
  • 11.I Like Jersey Best [1989] - Bucky & John Pizzarelli
  • 12.That's No Way To Get Along [1989] - Rory Block
  • 13.Killing The Blues [1989] - Chris Smither
  • 14.Traveling Alone [2013] - Tift Merritt
  • 15.Down In The Milltown [1990] - John Gorka
  • 16.Dear Little Cafe [1972] - Lena Spencer

Product Description:

San Francisco's Tompkins Square Label Releases 'Live At Caffè Lena: Music From America's Legendary Coffeehouse, 1967-2013'

3-CD Box Set Available Worldwide September 24, 2013

Unreleased performances by Dave Van Ronk, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Kate McGarrigle, Rick Danko, Anais Mitchell, Sleepy John Estes, Arlo Guthrie, Sarah Lee Guthrie, and more.

Nestled in the quaint upstate town of Saratoga Springs, New York is Caffè Lena, the oldest continuously operating folk music coffeehouse in the US. Opened by Lena Spencer in 1960, this tiny room has played host to influential artists across diverse genres of music; traditional folk, blues, singer-songwriters, jazz and bluegrass. Luckily, many performances were caught on tape through the years, offering the listener a thrilling seat inside this hallowed venue. 'Live At Caffè Lena', a 3-CD box set, the result of years of investigative research, contains 47 tracks, all released for the very first time, alongside previously unpublished photographs. Images include selections from the archive of esteemed photographer Joe Alper, who captured many iconic, intimate portraits from the folk era of the 1960s.

'Live At Caffè Lena' documents an important folk universe that was and is still happening in upstate New York, a story heretofore largely untold. The release of this collection comes at an auspicious time in light of renewed interest in the New York folk scene of the 60s as depicted in the forthcoming Coen Brothers film, 'Inside Llewyn Davis.' The film is loosely based on Dave Van Ronk's 2005 memoir 'The Mayor of Macdougal Street.' Van Ronk, a Caffè Lena regular, served as a mentor to many artists, some who would go on to eclipse his fame. His 1974 recording of "Gaslight Rag"featured on the box set references the Gaslight Café, a famed Greenwich Village venue that along with Caffè Lena was a catalyst for the folk music revival.

Caffè Lena embodied the spirit of the folk boom, the era and its artistry, building a reputation as a hotbed of creativity and connection. It was also a safe haven and nurturing space for artists, its atmosphere cultivated personally by Lena Spencer herself. She would graciously house wayward artists, sometimes for months at a time. But she was not merely a host. She championed artists, from Bob Dylan as early as 1961 all the way through the 80s until her passing. Her passion for identifying and promoting talent is evident throughout this 3-CD set. That Caffè Lena is still open for business tonight is a testament to her legacy.

'Live At Caffè Lena' is an important visual and audio document - 40+ years of our collective music history unearthed from dozens of "lost" tapes - night after night, show after show, through the decades - captured on tape in a tiny room in Saratoga Springs, New York.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:


Product Info:

  • UPC: 894807002967
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items