Barclay James Harvest Child of the Universe: The Essential Collection (2-CD)

Child of the Universe: The Essential Collection
19 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  387AQ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Spectrum Audio Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Child of the Universe
  • 2.Crazy City
  • 3.Negative Earth
  • 4.The Great 1974 Mining Disaster
  • 5.She Said [1974 Live Version]
  • 6.Mockingbird [1974 Live Version]
  • 7.Titles
  • 8.Jonathon
  • 9.Hymn for the Children
  • 10.Moongirl
  • 11.Ra
  • 12.Rock 'n' Roll Star
  • 13.Suicide

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Poor Man's Moody Blues
  • 2.Taking Me Higher
  • 3.Nova Lepidoptera
  • 4.Berlin
  • 5.In Search of England
  • 6.Love on the Line
  • 7.Sperratus
  • 8.Song, The (They Love to Sing)
  • 9.Hymn
  • 10.Life Is for Living
  • 11.Fifties Child
  • 12.Ring of Changes
  • 13.Alone in the Night
  • 14.All My Life
  • 15.Cheap the Bullet

Product Description:

Throughout the '70s and '80s, England's Barclay James Harvest were one of prog rock's most enduring acts, releasing a steady string of well-crafted albums for Harvest Records and Polydor while never quite breaking through to the mainstream success enjoyed by similar acts such as the Moody Blues, Jethro Tull, and Pink Floyd. Their strong harmonies, sparkling keyboard work, and quality songcraft were best emphasized on their mellower ballads, which became one of the group's hallmarks over the years. Following their split with Harvest Records in 1973, they signed a long contract with Polydor, a relationship that lasted almost two decades. Covered here on Universal's two-disc set Child of the Universe: The Essential Collection are highlights from the group's expansive Polydor catalog, culling tracks from 1974's Everyone Is Everybody Else all the way through 1990's Welcome to the Show. It's a well-curated anthology representing the most active portion of BJH's long career, consisting largely of studio material along with two songs from their Harvest era ("She Said" and "Mockingbird"), which appear as live renditions on the first disc. The Essential Collection is a solid introduction to a band that has made a lasting, if understated, impact in British rock history. ~ Timothy Monger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Barclay James Harvest

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 126,199
  • UPC: 600753447925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)