Van Morrison Moondance [Deluxe Edition] (4-CD+Blu-Ray Box Set)

Moondance [Deluxe Edition] (4-CD+Blu-Ray Box Set)
11 copies available
Price: $68.39
List Price: $75.99
You Save: $7.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  3878W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: October 21, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.113
Ranked #65 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...Songs such as the title track 'And It Stoned Me' and 'Caravan' felt like a lucid dream..."
Rolling Stone - 3/19/70, p.47
"...MOONDANCE is an album of musical invention and lyrical confidence....this one will be immensely popular..."
Vibe - 12/99, p.160
Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century
Q (Magazine) - p.140
"[A] single, flowing, perfectly programmed suite of songs, with 'Into The Mystic' its majestic centrepiece."
NME (Magazine) - 9/18/93, p.19
Ranked #17 in NME's list of The Greatest Albums Of The '70s.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.And It Stoned Me
  • 2.Moondance
  • 3.Crazy Love
  • 4.Caravan
  • 5.Into The Mystic
  • 6.Come Running
  • 7.These Dreams Of You
  • 8.Brand New Day
  • 9.Everyone
  • 10.Glad Tidings

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.What do we call this Van?
  • 2.Caravan (Take 1)
  • 3.Caravan (Takes 2-3)
  • 4.Caravan (Take 4)
  • 5.Caravan (Takes 5-6)
  • 6.Caravan (Take 7)
  • 7.Caravan (Take 8)
  • 8.I ve Been Working (Early Version Take 1)
  • 9.I ve Been Working (Early Version Take 2)
  • 10.I ve Been Working (Early Version Take 5)
  • 11.Nobody Knows You When You re Down And Out (Outtake)
  • 12.I Shall Sing (Take 1)
  • 13.I Shall Sing (Takes 2-3)
  • 14.I Shall Sing (Takes 4-6)
  • 15.I Shall Sing (Take 7)
  • 16.I Shall Sing (Takes 8-12)
  • 17.I Shall Sing (Take 13)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Into The Mystic (Take 10)
  • 2.Into The Mystic (Take 11)
  • 3.Into The Mystic (Takes 12-13)
  • 4.Into The Mystic (Takes 14-16)
  • 5.Into The Mystic (Take 17)
  • 6.Brand New Day (Take 1)
  • 7.Brand New Day (Take 2)
  • 8.Brand New Day (Take 3)
  • 9.Brand New Day (Take 4)
  • 10.Brand New Day (Takes 5-6)
  • 11.Brand New Day (Take 7)
  • 12.Glad Tidings (Take 1)
  • 13.Glad Tidings (Takes 2-4)
  • 14.Glad Tidings (Takes 7-8)
  • 15.Glad Tidings (Take 9)
  • 16.Caravan Redo (Takes 1-2)
  • 17.Caravan Redo (Take 3)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Come Running (Take 1)
  • 2.Come Running (Take 2)
  • 3.Come Running (Takes 3-4)
  • 4.Come Running (Take 5)
  • 5.Come Running ( Rolling On 4 )
  • 6.Moondance (Take 21)
  • 7.Moondance (Take 22)
  • 8.Glad Tidings (Alt. Version)
  • 9.These Dreams Of You (Alt Version)
  • 10.Crazy Love (Remix)
  • 11.Glad Tidings (Remix 1)
  • 12.Glad Tidings (Remix 2)
  • 13.Glad Tidings (Remix 3)
  • 14.Caravan (Remix)
  • 15.These Dreams Of You (Remix)
  • 16.I Shall Sing (Mix)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Van Morrison (vocals, acoustic guitar); John Platania (guitar); Jack Shrorer (saxophone); Jeff Labes (keyboards); Garry Malabar (drums).
Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, tambourine); John Platania (guitar); Collin Tilton (flute, tenor saxophone); Jack Schroer (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Jeff Labes (piano, organ); Gary Mallaber (vibraphone, drums); Guy Mason (conga drum).
Audio Mixers: Elliot Scheiner; Wyn Davis; Brian Kehew.
Audio Remasterer: Elliot Scheiner.
Liner Note Authors: Elliot Scheiner; Janet Planet; Alan Light.
Recording information: A&R Recording Studios (09/05/1969-12/01/1969); A&R Recording Studios (12/17/1969).
Photographers: David Gahr; Elliott Landy.
It's unusual for a decade-defining record to come out in that decade's first year, but that was clearly the case with MOONDANCE. While it would have been one of the finest albums of any decade, it clearly marked a turning point both for Van Morrison and for rock as a whole. Coming after 1968's expansive, acoustic, jazz-inflected ASTRAL WEEKS, MOONDANCE marks a complete about-face: instead of looking inward to the depths of his soul, Van turned his gaze towards sunnier climes, offering up a seamless disc of tightly composed and arranged tunes brimming with warmth and energy.
Here the R&B influence that had been part of Morrison's tool kit since his days fronting Them truly came to the fore at last. "Crazy Love," "Caravan," and "Brand New Day" could have been covered by any great soul singer, even as they redefined "soul" through the filter of Morrison's eclectic sensibilities. An openhearted record full of truly inspirational moments, MOONDANCE is Van at the absolute top of his game, setting the pace for everyone else to follow. Nearly every song here is a stone-cold classic, and MOONDANCE has become embedded in the collective pop consciousness as one of the most important touchstones of its time.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Van Morrison

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 89,745
  • UPC: 081227963859
  • Shipping Weight: 0.53/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)