Fairport Convention Rising for the Moon [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Rising for the Moon [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
18 ratings
Price: $18.89
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3877X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 3, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Universal Import

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.132
3 stars out of 5 - "[With] seven Denny originals making it the last Fairport album worth owning..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Raising for the Moon
  • 2.Restless
  • 3.White Dress
  • 4.Let It Go
  • 5.Stranger to Himself
  • 6.What Is True?
  • 7.Iron Lion
  • 8.Dawn
  • 9.After Halloween
  • 10.Night-Time Girl
  • 11.One More Chance
  • 12.White Dress [Live on LWT]
  • 13.Dawn [Alternative Version]
  • 14.What Is True [Studio Demo]
  • 15.After Halloween [Demo]
  • 16.The King and Queen of England [Home Demo / Alternative Take]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Down In The Flood [Live]
  • 2.Ballad of Ned Kelly [Live]
  • 3.Solo [Live]
  • 4.It'll Take A Long Time [Live]
  • 5.She Moves Through The Fair [Live]
  • 6.The Hens March Through The Midden & The Four Poster Bed [Live]
  • 7.The Hexamshire Lass [Live]
  • 8.Knocking On Heavens Door [Live]
  • 9.Six Days On The Road [Live]
  • 10.Like An Old Fashioned Waltz [Live]
  • 11.John The Gun [Live]
  • 12.Down Where The Drunkards Roll [Live]
  • 13.Crazy Lady Blues [Live]
  • 14.Who Knows Where The Time Goes [Live]
  • 15.Matty Groves [Live]
  • 16.That'll Be The Day [Live]

Product Description:

Although there's nothing here as overpowering as "Sailor's Life" or "Sloth," this record is still a choice release, as Sandy Denny's official return to Fairport. She wrote or co-wrote seven of its 11 songs, and dominates most of the others with her voice. This lineup (Denny, Dave Swarbrick, Dave Pegg, Jerry Donahue, Trevor Lucas, and Bruce Rowland, with Dave Mattacks -- who quit partway through -- drumming on some of the tracks) went for the gold with rock veteran Glyn Johns in the producer's spot. The result was the only Fairport album done after the departure of Richard Thompson that doesn't sound anemic in the electric guitar department. Some of the songs, especially the title track and "Restless," have the feel of compact, breezy pop/country-rock, reminiscent of the Eagles or Firefall, although it's hard to imagine either of those groups turning in anything with the ethereal beauty of Denny's performance on "White Dress" or "Dawn." Those songs and "Stranger to Himself" could easily have been on one of her solo albums. Others, like Trevor Lucas' "Iron Lion," sound almost like Fairport's version of the Rolling Stones' "Dead Flowers." Only the Swarbrick/Pegg "Night-Time Girl" resembles Fairport's established work from their earlier history. This was the last album and the last incarnation of Fairport Convention to present itself to the public as a contemporary rock group. Beyond this point, they became part of the folk revival circuit, albeit with a huge audience. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Fairport Convention

Product Info

  • UPC: 602537492527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)