Santana The Essential Santana (2-CD)

The Essential Santana (2-CD)
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  385WD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 20, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Jingo
  • 2.Everybody's Everything
  • 3.Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen
  • 4.Oye Como Va
  • 5.Samba Pa Ti
  • 6.No One to Depend On
  • 7.She's Not There
  • 8.Evil Ways
  • 9.Love, Devotion & Surrender
  • 10.Open Invitation
  • 11.Stormy
  • 12.Europa (Earth's Cry Heaven's Smile)
  • 13.Winning
  • 14.Soul Sacrifice [Live at Woodstock]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Smooth - (featuring Rob Thomas)
  • 2.Maria Maria - (featuring The Product G&B)
  • 3.Hold On
  • 4.Make Somebody Happy
  • 5.Game of Love, The - (featuring Michelle Branch)
  • 6.Bella
  • 7.Healer, The - (featuring Santana)
  • 8.Somewhere in Heaven
  • 9.Into the Night - (featuring Chad Kroeger)
  • 10.Pur Yout Lights On
  • 11.Calling, The - (featuring Eric Clapton)
  • 12.Blues for Salvador
  • 13.Victory Is Won
  • 14.Game of Love, The - (featuring Tina Turner)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Hal Miller.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Jim Marshall ; Robert Altman; Jay Blakesberg; Sandy Speiser; Paul Haggard; Giulio Fratticioli.
The 2013 Legacy compilation The Essential Santana shares many superficial similarities to their 2002 compilation. To begin with, it bears the same title, similar artwork (Carlos is looking to the right in 2002, to the left in 2013), and several of the same songs, all arriving at the start: "Jingo," "Evil Ways," "Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen," "Oye Como Va," "Samba Pa Ti," "Everybody's Everything," "Love, Devotion and Surrender," "Stormy," "Europa," and "Winning," which covers the late '60s through the early '80s. After these ten songs comes the deluge of new millennial pop and blues, including the massive hits "Smooth" and "The Game of Love," where Santana's presence is almost incidental to the pop hooks sung by Rob Thomas and Michelle Branch, respectively. From there, this does dip back into the '80s and '90s for such cuts as "The Healer" and "Blues for Salvador," but this is pretty much Carlos Santana in superstar mode, either playing duets or sliding into palatable blues/jazz fusion. There isn't as much adventure here as there is on the 2002 set, but for pop-minded Santana fans, this is the way to go. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Santana

Product Info

  • UPC: 886978342027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)