Philip Glass Kundun [Music from the Original Soundtrack]

Kundun [Music from the Original Soundtrack]
24 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3568E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 25, 1997
  • Label: Nonesuch

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/9/97, p.67
"...For the Martin Scorsese film, Glass builds spinning, three-dimensional mandalas of sound, anchors them with growling bass tones, and still manages to create a conventional score..."
- Rating: B


  • 1.Sand Mandala
  • 2.Northern Tibet
  • 3.Dark Kitchen
  • 4.Choosing
  • 5.Caravan Moves Out
  • 6.Reting's Eyes
  • 7.Potala
  • 8.Lord Chamberlain
  • 9.Norbu Plays
  • 10.Norbulingka
  • 11.Chinese Invade
  • 12.Fish
  • 13.Distraught
  • 14.Thirteenth Dalai Lama
  • 15.Move to Dungkar
  • 16.Projector
  • 17.Lhasa at Night
  • 18.Escape to India

Product Description:

Original soundtrack composed by Philip Glass.
Personnel: Michael Riesman (conductor, piano, celeste, synthesizer); Richard Sher (cello); Susan Jolles (harp); Andrew Sterman (piccolo); Carol Wincenc (flute); Henry Schuman (oboe); Steven Hartman (clarinet, bass clarinet); Lauren Goldstein-Stubbs (bassoon, contrabassoon); Sharon Moe (French horn); Wilmer Wise (trumpet); Alan Raph (bass trombone); Dhondup Namgyal Khorko (Tibetan horns, cymbals); Gordon Gottlieb (percussion); Gyuto Monks, Monks Of The Drukpa Order.
Recorded at The Looking Glass Studios, New York, New York.
Personnel: Susan Jolles (harp); Richard Sher (cello); Carol Wincenc (flute); Andrew Sterman (piccolo); Steven Hartman (clarinet, bass clarinet); Henry Schuman (oboe); Wilmer Wise (trumpet); Sharon Moe (French horn); Alan Raph (bass trombone); Michael Riesman (piano, celesta, synthesizer); Gordon Gottlieb (percussion).
Recording information: Looking Glass Studios, New York, NY.
The fundamentally meditative quality of Phillip Glass's music makes it ideal for telling the tale of the 13th Dalai Llama as chronicled in Martin Scorcese's KUNDUN. The instrumentation is a mixture of Tibetan horn and cymbals and traditional Western classical instruments. Among the musicians that bring Glass's work to life are New York classical greats Carol Wincenc on flute and Gordon Gottlieb on percussion. Actual recordings of Gyoto monks are also included in the recording. Undulating cross rhythms, chanting and horn figures give rise to conventional melodies in the bass instruments.
Tchaikovsky's use of celeste to evoke a sense of mystery and wonder is recalled in "Dark Kitchen." The French horn, played in the low register (with a tone reminiscent of the Tibetan horn) takes flight in "Chinese Invade." In "Norbu Dances" the tonal color of the tambourine is used, with playful rhythms charmingly suggestive of child's play. Glass's shifting frames of rhythmic reference sound like the shifting patterns of light and energy forming the Buddhists' theological world.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 24 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Philip Glass

Product Info

  • UPC: 075597946024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)