Baby Boy
by Various Artists

Baby Boy
14 ratings
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G5FJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 7, 2005
  • Label: Fontana Universal


  • 1.Womb, The (Intro) - (Intro)
  • 2.Just a Baby Boy
  • 3.Just a Man
  • 4.Focus (Interlude) - (interlude)
  • 5.Baby Mama
  • 6.Talk S*** 2 Ya
  • 7.I'd Rather Be With You
  • 8.You
  • 9.Jody Meets Rodney (Interlude) - (interlude)
  • 10.Crip Hop
  • 11.Thatshowegetdown
  • 12.Guns and Butter (Interlude) - (interlude)
  • 13.We Keep It G
  • 14.Eat Sleep Think
  • 15.Just to Keep You Satisfied
  • 16.I Hate You (Interlude) - (interlude)
  • 17.Love and War
  • 18.Straight *******
  • 19.Baby Boy - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Raphael Saadiq (vocals, guitar); D'Angelo (vocals); Jeff Mironov (guitar); Battlecat (keyboards, drums, programming); Chris Liggio (keyboards, percussion, programming); Mark Sparks (drums); Boogie Jake (drum programming); Dave Hollister, Felicia Adams, Gwenita Jackson, Macy Gray, Andre Wilson, Anthony Hamilton (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Johnny Dankworth; D'Angelo; Mr. Leslie Braithwaite; Mark Mitchell ; Brian Villanova; Mannie Fresh; Ray Seay; Battlecat.
Recording information: Big Noise Studios, New York, NY; Cash Money Studios, New Orleans, LA; Dogghouse Recording Studios, Claremont, CA; Electric, Studios, New York, NY; Lorider Media Group, NJ; Mint, Oakland, CA; Pookie Lab, Sacramento, CA; The Studio, Philadelphia, PA.
Arranger: D'Angelo.
John Singleton, of BOYZ N THE HOOD fame, cast R&B heartthrob Tyrese as the star of BABY BOY, a film about a young man in L.A. searching for his identity. Why Tyrese's participation in the soundtrack is limited to "Just a Baby Boy," where he shares the spotlight with Snoop Dogg and Mr. Tan, is a question we'll leave to the singer/actor's manager. More importantly, this disc is a carefully considered R&B/hip-hop collection wherein the artists take on the subject of interpersonal relationships with intelligence and skill.
Raphael Saadiq and Devin the Dude's "Just a Man" is an honest account of a man who's given in to temptation, but strives against his nature to make a commitment. Three 6 Mafia's "Baby Mama" bears a tongue-in-cheek tone; their ironic humor leavens the bleak emotional reality of an uncommitted young couple with a child. Equally impressive is BABY BOY's sonic sense of history--D'Angelo's contribution is sort of a trip-hop-meets-Sly Stone-circa-RIOT GOIN' ON number, and the legendary Bootsy Collins chimes in with some quirky, old-school R&B.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 044001427626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)