Carmine Coppola Apocalypse Now Redux [Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Apocalypse Now Redux [Music from the Motion
14 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $4.40 (26% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V6KV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 31, 2001
  • Label: Nonesuch


  • 1.End, The - (with The Doors)
  • 2.Apocalypse Now, film score: The Delta
  • 3.Apocalypse Now, film score: Dossier
  • 4.Apocalypse Now, film score: Orange Light
  • 5.Die Walk?re (The Valkyrie), opera, WWV 86b: Ride of the Valkyries - (with Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra)
  • 6.Suzie Q - (with Flash Cadillac)
  • 7.Nung River (for Apocalypis Now)
  • 8.Do Lung (for Apocalypse Now): Do Lung
  • 9.Apocalypse Now, film score: Letter's From Home
  • 10.Clean's Death (for Apocalypse Now)
  • 11.Apocalypse Now, film score: Clean's Funeral - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Apocalypse Now, film score: Love Theme - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Apocalypse Now, film score: Chief's Death
  • 14.Apocalypse Now, film score: Voyage
  • 15.Apocalypse Now, film score: Chef's Head
  • 16.Apocalypse Now, film score: Kurtz Chorale
  • 17.Apocalypse Now, film score: Finale

Product Description:

Original score composed by Carmine Coppola and Francis Copolla.
Personnel includes: Randy Hansen (guitar); Carmine Copolla (flute); Patrick Gleeson, Richard Beggs, Benard L. Krause, Ed Goldfarb, Don Preston, Shirley Walker, Nyle Steiner (synthesizer); Mickey Hart (percussion); The Rhythm Devils.
Includes liner notes by Francis Coppola.
Personnel: Carmine Coppola (flute); Sheila Ellis, Jeanie Tracy (vocals); Randy Hansen (guitar); Ed Goldfarb, Don Preston , Nyle Steiner, Richard Beggs, Patrick Gleeson, Shirley Walker (synthesizer).
Audio Mixer: Richard Beggs.
Liner Note Author: Francis Ford Coppola.
Recording information: American Zoetrope Studios, San Francisco, CA; CBS Studio Center, Los Angeles, CA; Club Front, San Rafael, CA; Different Fur Music, San Francisco, CA; The Automatt, San Francisco, CA.
Photographer: Josh Weiner.
With Francis Ford Coppola's expanded Apocalypse Now Redux came the release of the film's electronic score, complete with newly recorded music to cover the added scenes. The original 1979 soundtrack album contained most of Martin Sheen's narration as well as dialogue and sound effects from the movie, functioning more as a souvenir than a musical listening experience and drowning out a lot of Carmine Coppola's music. The new release finally features just the underscore along with other pivotal music cues, including "The End" by the Doors, "Susie Q," and the stirring "Ride of the Valkyries." Originally written for a full orchestra and then realized on synthesizers, the music for Apocalypse Now Redux tends to sound dated and somewhat sterile, even while the recording itself is particularly crisp. Still, it's an interesting and welcome CD (especially for hardcore devotees of the film), even if the "Love Theme" for one of the film's new scenes sticks out like a sore thumb and Mickey Hart's contributions (with the Diga Rhythm Devils) are all too brief. ~ Neil Shurley

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 075597964424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)