Thomas Newman Angels in America [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Angels in America [Original Motion Picture
28 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $4.40 (26% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G5ER
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Nonesuch


  • 1.Angels in America, film score: Threshold of Revelation
  • 2.Angels in America, film score: Angels in America (Main Title)
  • 3.Angels in America, film score: Lesionnaire
  • 4.Angels in America, film score: Ellis Island
  • 5.Angels in America, film score: Acolyte of the Flux
  • 6.Angels in America, film score: Umdankbar Kind
  • 7.Angels in America, film score: The Ramble
  • 8.Angels in America, film score: Ozone
  • 9.Angels in America, film score: Pill Poppers
  • 10.Angels in America, film score: Quartet
  • 11.Solitude - (with Duke Ellington)
  • 12.Angels in America, film score: Bayeux Tapestry
  • 13.Angels in America, film score: Spotty Monster
  • 14.Angels in America, film score: Mauve Antarctica
  • 15.Angels in America, film score: Her Fabulous Incipience
  • 16.Angels in America, film score: The Infinite Descent
  • 17.Just A Closer Walk With Thee - (with George Lewis)
  • 18.Angels in America, film score: Broom of Truth
  • 19.Angels in America, film score: Submit!
  • 20.Angels in America, film score: Plasma Orgasmata
  • 21.Angels in America, film score: Delicate Particle Logic
  • 22.Angels in America, film score: The Mormons
  • 23.Angels in America, film score: Prophet Birds
  • 24.Angels in America, film score: More Life
  • 25.Angels in America, film score: Black Angel
  • 26.Angels in America, film score: Garden of the Soul
  • 27.Angels in America, film score: Heaven
  • 28.Angels in America, film score: Bethesda Fountain
  • 29.Angels in America, film score: The Great Work Begins (End Title) - (End Title)
  • 30.Angels in America, film score: Tropopause
  • 31.I'm His Child

Product Description:

Original score composed by Thomas Newman.
Personnel: Thomas Newman (piano); Susie Stevens Logan, Chris Ibenhard, Dwayne Condon, Sandra Montgomery, Sally Stevens, Elin Carlson, Bobbi Page (vocals); George Budd (whistling, synthesizer); George Doering (guitar, kantele, lute); Rick Cox, Bill Bernstein (guitar); Steve Tavaglione (violin, alto flute, clarinet, EWI); Oliver Schroer, Sid Page (violin); Steve Kujala (flute); Leslie Reed (oboe); John Beasley (piano); Michael Fisher (drums, bodhran, tambourine, timpani, chimes).
Audio Mixer: Tommy Vicari.
Recording information: Fox Newman Scoring Stage; Signet Sound Studios; Todd Scoring Stage.
Unknown Contributor Role: Michael Fisher.
The producers of HBO's adaptation of Tony Kushner's epic play ANGELS IN AMERICA showed wise judgment in calling on Thomas Newman to score the star-studded production. The award-winning composer--veteran of sagas such as THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION, AMERICAN BEAUTY, and ROAD TO PERDITION--knows his way around the musical expression of human emotions. He writes stunningly eloquent music that demands attention, yet never overwhelms the accompanied images. Newman rises to the occasion and provides music that perfectly matches the scope of this monumental work. Many of the themes are rendered for orchestra and voices, and are essentially romantic in nature, as exemplified by "Angels in America (Main Title)," "Pill Poppers," and "Broom of Truth." However, he also utilizes unusual instruments, as well as electronic devices, to achieve some exotic textures and otherworldly effects as in "The Ramble," "Quartet," and "Mauve Antarctica." Much of the music is tinged with melancholy or conveys foreboding and desolation, but even at its grimmest or eeriest, there always seems to be a hovering sense of hope. The soundtrack also includes recordings of Duke Ellington's "Solitude," "A Closer Walk with Thee" performed by George Lewis and His Ragtime Band, and the uplifting gospel tune "I'm His Child" as sung by Zella Jackson-Price.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Thomas Newman

Product Info

  • UPC: 075597983722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)