Amandla! [Original Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

Amandla! [Original Soundtrack]
16 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G5E7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 4, 2003
  • Label: Ato Records


  • 1.Amandla!
  • 2.When You Come Back
  • 3.Lizobuya
  • 4.Meadowlands
  • 5.Sad Times, Bad Times
  • 6.Senzeni Na?
  • 7.Beware Verwoerd (Naants' Indod Emnyama)
  • 8.Y'Zinga
  • 9.Stimela
  • 10.Injamblo / Hambani Kunye Ne-Vangeli
  • 11.Mannenberg
  • 12.Nkosi Sikelel' I Africa
  • 13.Thina Lomhlaba Siwugezi
  • 14.Mayibuye
  • 15.Thina Sizwe
  • 16.Folk Vibe #1
  • 17.Dubula Ngesi'bam
  • 18.Sobashiya Abazale Ekhaya
  • 19.Bring Him Back Home (Nelson Mandela)
  • 20.Did You Hear That Sound? (Dreamtime Improv)
  • 21.S'Bali
  • 22.Makuliwe
  • 23.Bahlei Bonke
  • 24.Kuzobenjani Na?
  • 25.You Strike the Rock
  • 26.The Untold Story
  • 27.Iyo
  • 28.Usilethela Uxolo (Nelson Mandela Bring Us Peace)
  • 29.Toyi-Toyi Introduction / Kramat

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Producers: Chris Tetzeli, Lee Hirsch, Sherry Simpson.
Includes liner notes by S'bu Nxumalo.
The soundtrack to Lee Hirsch's documentary is recommended to people who enjoyed the film and anyone else who's interested in South African freedom songs. As noted in the album's liner notes, this is "only a snapshot of South Africa's musical landscape." It is mostly limited to protest music and is not as good an overall album as The Indestructible Beat of Soweto, for example. But it does feature a fine assortment of carefully chosen tracks that flow together relatively smoothly despite the differences in musical styles and recording dates (which range from "Meadowlands," released as a single in 1955, to tracks recorded in 2000 and 2001). It offers listeners a chance to hear studio and field recordings, chants and choral pieces, spoken word snippets, prison singers, and internationally renowned artists such as Miriam Makeba, Abdullah Ibrahim, and Hugh Masekela. It also serves as a showcase with several tracks by Vusi Mahlasela, whose credentials include guest vocals on the Dave Matthews Band's Everyday and a performance at Nelson Mandela's inauguration as president. The songs on this album are unified by an inspiring desire for freedom that makes Amandla! more than just a musical sampler and historical overview. ~ Todd Kristel

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 791022151022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)