Les Miserables [Original London Cast Recording] (2-CD)
by Various Artists

Les Miserables [Original London Cast Recording]
311 ratings
Price: $22.48
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  33S4S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: First Night (Red)

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Work Song
  • Buy for $1.292.Valjean Arrested / Valjean Forgiven
  • Buy for $1.293.What Have I Done?
  • Buy for $1.294.At the End of the Day
  • Buy for $1.295.I Dreamed a Dream
  • Buy for $1.296.Lovely Ladies
  • Buy for $1.297.Who Am I?
  • Buy for $1.298.Come to Me
  • Buy for $1.299.Confrontation
  • Buy for $1.2910.Castle on a Cloud
  • Buy for $1.2911.Master of the House
  • Buy for $1.2912.The Thenardier Waltz of Treachery
  • Buy for $1.2913.Stars
  • Buy for $1.2914.Look Down
  • Buy for $1.2915.Little People
  • Buy for $1.2916.Red and Black
  • Buy for $1.2917.Do You Hear the People Sing?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.I Saw Him Once / In My Life / A Heart Full Of Love
  • Buy for $1.292.Plumet Attack
  • Buy for $1.293.One Day More
  • Buy for $1.294.On My Own
  • Buy for $1.295.The Attack
  • Buy for $1.296.A Little Fall of Rain
  • Buy for $1.297.Drink With Me
  • Buy for $1.298.Bring Him Home
  • Buy for $1.299.Dog Eats Dog
  • Buy for $1.2910.Soliloquy (Javert's Suicide)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Turning
  • Buy for $1.2912.Empty Chairs at Empty Tables
  • Buy for $1.2913.Beggars At The Feast / Wedding Chorale
  • Buy for $1.2914.Finale

Product Description:

Principal cast includes: Patti LuPone, Colm Wilkinson, Frances Ruffelle.
Producers: Alan Boubil, Claude-Michel Schonberg.
All music written by Alan Boubil and Claude-Michel Schonberg.
The songs on this recording are slightly different from those on the Broadway cast album, including a complete version of the song "Little People."
Originally conceived as a simple recording production, Les Mis‚rables evolved quickly into one of the premiere theater events of the 1980s. Theatrically on par with The Phantom of the Opera, Les Miz is drawn from the Victor Hugo novel of the same name. The story chronicles the life of Jean Valjean, a simple Frenchman who was arrested as a youth for stealing a loaf of bread. After serving five years for that crime, as well as an additional 14 for attempted escape, Valjean is released on parole. Upon changing his name and eluding his parole officer, Valjean becomes the surrogate father of a young girl and a mayor as the French Revolution sets in. As the war rages, he finds that he cannot change the man he is. Les Mis‚rables is typical of theater in the '80s, with extravagant effects and large full-cast numbers. The beautiful score is full of emotion and humor, including such memorable and noteworthy songs as "Look Down," "Do You Hear the People Sing?," "Bring Him Home," "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," and the ubiquitous "On My Own." The original London cast recording is considered by many to be superior to various other releases of Les Miz, including the Broadway cast. Colm Wilkinson and Frances Ruffelle originate here the roles they played in the Broadway cast, joined by Patti LuPone and Michael Ball. An important addition to a collection for those who want a nearly complete version but who don't need the full symphonic version. ~ Sarah Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 311 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 766927336225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)