Dreamgirls in Concert: The First Complete Recording (2-CD)
by Various Artists

Dreamgirls in Concert: The First Complete
79 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $16 (73% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZHUS 79656
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 26, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Nonesuch

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/1/02, p.81
"...brilliant blend of Motown-style grooves, snappy harmonies, and showstopping ballads..." - Rating: B

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dreamgirls, musical: I'm Looking For Something, Baby
  • 2.Dreamgirls, musical: Goin' Downtown
  • 3.Dreamgirls, musical: Takin' The Long Way Home
  • 4.Dreamgirls, musical: Move (You're Steppin' On My Heart)
  • 5.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: Fifty Bucks Says The Dreamettes Don't Win
  • 6.Dreamgirls, musical: Fake Your Way To The Top
  • 7.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: It Ain't Working, Marty
  • 8.Dreamgirls, musical: Cadillac Car
  • 9.Dreamgirls, musical: Cadillac Car (On The Road)
  • 10.Dreamgirls, musical: Cadillac Car (Recording Studio)
  • 11.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: I Don't Believe They Can Do That
  • 12.Dreamgirls, musical: Steppin' To The Bad Side
  • 13.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: I'm Working On A Long Shot
  • 14.Dreamgirls, musical: Party, Party
  • 15.Dreamgirls, musical: I Want You, Baby
  • 16.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: I'm A Woman Now
  • 17.Dreamgirls, musical: Family
  • 18.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: What Are You Doing To That Girl?
  • 19.Dreamgirls, musical: Dreamgirls
  • 20.Dreamgirls, musical: Press Conference
  • 21.Dreamgirls, musical: Heavy
  • 22.Dreamgirls, musical: Walkin' Down The Strip; Scene: Las Vegas
  • 23.Dreamgirls, musical: It's All Over
  • 24.Dreamgirls, musical: And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dreamgirls, musical: Opening Act II: Dreams Medley
  • 2.Dreamgirls, musical: Scene: Effie White Is The Best Singer You're Gonna Find
  • 3.Dreamgirls, musical: I Am Changing
  • 4.Dreamgirls, musical: Vogue Sequence
  • 5.Dreamgirls, musical: When I First Saw You
  • 6.Dreamgirls, musical: Ain't No Party
  • 7.Dreamgirls, musical: I Meant You No Harm
  • 8.Dreamgirls, musical: The Rap
  • 9.Dreamgirls, musical: I Miss You, Old Friend
  • 10.Dreamgirls, musical: One Night Only
  • 11.Dreamgirls, musical: One Night Only (Disco Version) - (Disco Version)
  • 12.Dreamgirls, musical: I'm Somebody
  • 13.Dreamgirls, musical: Hard To Say Good-Bye
  • 14.Dreamgirls, musical: Dreamgirls (Reprise) - (Reprise)

Product Description:

Music written by Henry Krieger. Lyrics by Tom Eyen.
Principal cast includes: Heather Headley (Lorrell Robinson); Audra McDonald (Deena Jones); Lillias White (Effie Melody White); Darius De Haas (C.C. White); Norm Lewis (Curtis Taylor, Jr.); Billy Porter (Jimmy Early); Tamara Tunie (Michelle Morris); James Stovall (Marty).
Recorded live at The Ford Center For The Performing Arts and
The Hit Fctory Studios, New York, New York between September and November 2001. Includes liner notes by Tommy Krasker and Frank Rich.
Personnel: Karen Karlsrud, Karl Kawahara, Rick Dolan, Jorge Avila, Blair Lawhead, Ashley Horne, Suzanne Ornstein, Paul Woodiel, Belinda Whitney (violin); Eileen Folson , Clay Ruede (cello); Jay Brandford (flute, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Richard Heckman (flute, oboe, English horn, tenor saxophone).
Audio Mixer: Joel Moss .
Liner Note Author: Frank Rich.
Recording information: The Ford Center For The Performing Arts, New York, NY (11/24/2001); The Hit Factory, New York, NY (11/24/2001).
Directors: Brenda Braxton; Michael Bennett .
This 20th anniversary performance of the 1981 musical was recorded less than two weeks after September 11, 2001, in N.Y.C., no less. So forgive the stars (Heather Headley, Audra McDonald, and Lillias White) if they're not quite as lively or as joyful as they should be. But in the telling of a Supremes-like girl group who has their ups and downs -- captured here for the first time in their complete form on disc -- the game one-time cast has a ball with the material. And the showstopper "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going" still thrills after all these years. ~ Michael Gallucci

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 79 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 075597965629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)