The Wrens Best of The Wrens

Best of The Wrens
6 ratings
SALE: $7.49
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5404
Brand New

Related products:

Available in a set:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Founded in 1954 at the peak of the first explosion of black Vocal groups onto the Pop scene, The Wrens specialized in a then-common type of smooth, closed-mouth "oo-wah" harmony that shone through both their mid-tempo jump songs and mellow, romantic ballads. This compilation features every known RAMA release plus two previously unreleased takes and both previously unreleased (lead singer) Bobby Mansfield tracks.


  • 1.Come Back My Love
  • 2.Wreckless (Previously Unreleased)
  • 3.What Makes Yu Do The Things You Do
  • 4.She's My Everything (Previously Unreleased)
  • 5.Eleven Roses
  • 6.C'est La Vie
  • 7.Love's Something That's Made For Two (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  • 8.Betty Jean (Previously Unreleased)
  • 9.Beggin' For Love
  • 10.Love's Something That's Made For Two
  • 11.House Of Cards (Previously Unreleased)
  • 12.Hey, Girl (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  • 13.Serenade Of The Bells
  • 14.I Won't Come To Your Wedding

Product Description:

The Wrens: Bobby Mansfield, George Magnezid, Francis "Frenchie" Concepcion, James "Archie" Archer (vocals).
The Wrens were a woefully under-recorded doo wop group from the Morrisania section of the Bronx led by singer Bobby Mansfield, and this disc represents their complete recorded legacy. Counting unreleased material and alternate takes, the group recorded 14 tracks for George Goldner's Rama and Gee labels between 1954 and 1956, after which the group simply evaporated. The Wrens had a somewhat harder R&B edge than many of their genre contemporaries, and why they didn't generate more success is due more to shortsighted marketing than any defect in the group's talent. Their only hit (relatively speaking), "Come Back My Love," from 1955, is here, along with quality cuts like "What Makes You Do the Things You Do," the sprightly "Betty Jean," and the delightful "I Won't Come to Your Wedding," which features an arresting sax solo from Jimmy Wright. Also here are two tracks Mansfield recorded for Gee while backed by the Supremes (no, not the Motown group), "Reckless" (which is mislisted here -- as it usually is -- as "Wreckless") and "House of Cards," neither of which was ever officially issued by the label. The Wrens remain a historical footnote whose possibilities unfortunately far exceeded their actual output, through no fault of their own. This is the disc to get, but then, it really is all there is anyway. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Wrens

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,605
  • UPC: 090431540428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Oldies: Doowop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)