Afro Celt Sound System Pod (2-CD)

Pod (2-CD)
Price: $26.99
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  37X6Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Real World

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.50
"[They] concocted a seamless mix of Celtic, African, and world music influences, players, and instruments to produce a completely unique and innovative sound."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Rise Above [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.992.Johnny at Sea [Mix]
  • Buy for $0.993.Persistence of Memory [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.994.Further in Time [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.995.Full Moon Low Tide [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.996.Release [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.997.Releasse It [Masters at Work Segue / DJ Edit]
  • Buy for $0.998.Whirly 3 [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.999.Riding the Skies [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.9910.Eireann [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.9911.Release [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.9912.When You're Falling [Remix]
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lagan [Remix]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Release [Radio Edit]
  • Buy for $0.992.Release [Masters at Work Main Mix]
  • Buy for $0.993.Release [Rollo Remix]
  • Buy for $0.994.Release [Bi-Polar Remix]
  • Buy for $0.995.Release [Nu Yorican Soul Mix (Masters at Work)]
  • Buy for $0.996.Release [Nu Yorican Instrumental (Masters at Work)]
  • Buy for $0.997.Release [Keyapella (Masters at Work)]
  • Buy for $0.998.Release [Masters at Work Dub 1]
  • Buy for $0.999.Release [Masters at Work Instrumental]
  • Buy for $0.9910.Release [Masters at Work Bonus Beats]

Product Description:

Includes a bonus DVD.
Personnel: N'Faly Kouyate (vocals, celtic harp, kora, balafon); Iarla O Lion ird (vocals); Simon Emmerson (guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, keyboards, programming); Emer Mayock (flute, Uilleann pipe); James McNally (accordion, piano, harmonium, keyboards, bodhran, keyboard programming, drum programming); Martin Russell (keyboards, keyboard programming); Mass (keyboards, drum programming); Moussa Sissokho (talking drum, djembe); Johnny Kalsi (tabla).
Editor: Martin Russell.
Worldbeat ambassadors Afro Celt Sound System go the remix route on the two-disc set Pod. Essentially a career overview, Pod features 13 tracks culled from the group's ten-year history remixed by various bandmembers and DJs. Each song mixes in live bass and drums, adding a heavy backbeat to the band's swirling, genre-bending epics. Though each track is listed separately, the recording works as one solid piece with transitions that flow effortlessly into one another. The remixes themselves focus heavily on the thundering, tribal assault of the collective's live shows, occasionally veering off into ambient landscapes -- Rae & Christian's take on "Persistence of Memory" is like an audio version of the ocean floor. "Whirly 3" and "Eireann" do the best job at conveying the System's Celtic leanings, building a relentless pulse around serpentine uillean pipes. The rest is perfectly executed, occasionally innovative, and mostly unnecessary. Fans will be disappointed by the lack of "actual" new material, and listeners with distaste for Real World's militant attention to sonic detail will find little comfort. The real gem is the second disc, a beautifully crafted DVD that includes live footage in Seattle at the WOMAD festival and videos for "When You're Falling," "North," and "Persistence of Memory." ~ James Christopher Monger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Afro Celt Sound System

Product Info

  • UPC: 884108001943
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)