Supersuckers The Sacrilicious Sounds of the Supersuckers

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
9 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SUB 303

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Sub Pop

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 8/11/95, p.53
"...Footloose, fast, and funny, these jokers are the spiritual progeny of old-school punk cutups like the Dickies, only light-years better." - Rating: B+
Option - 1-2/96, pp.120-121
"...Supersuckers harbor good thoughts of themselves and their music. This self-confidence is not unfounded..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/23/95, p.51
8 (out of 10) - "...Imagine the MC5 intensified to warp factor thrash, dripping with Ted Nugent's gonzoid machismo and The Dead Boys' fabled snottiness. Now double it, suckers....And SACRILICIOUS is their masterpiece..."


  • 1.Bad Bad Bad
  • 2.Born With a Tail
  • 3.The 19th Most Powerful Woman in Rock
  • 4.Doublewide
  • 5.Bad Dog
  • 6.Money into Sin
  • 7.Marie
  • 8.The Thing About That
  • 9.Ozzy
  • 10.Run Like a Motherfucker
  • 11.Hittin' the Gravel
  • 12.Stoned If You Want It
  • 13.My Victim
  • 14.Don't Go Blue

Product Description:

Supersuckers: Mr. Rick Sims (guitar, vocals); Dan "Thunder" Bolton (guitar); Eddie Spaghetti (bass, vocals); Dancing Eagle (drums).
Additional personnel: John Mills (tenor & baritone saxophones); Keith Wingking (trumpet); Miss Bobbie Nelson (piano, Hammond organ); Spencer Starnes (bass).
Recorded at Arlyn Recording Studio, Austin, Texas.
Personnel: Rick Sims (vocals, guitar); Eddie Spaghetti (vocals); Dan Bolton (guitar); John Mills (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Keith Winking (trumpet); Bobbie Nelson (piano); Dancing Eagle (drums).
Recording information: Arlyn Recording Studio, Austin, TX; Aryln Recording Studio, Austin, TX.
Photographers: Lance Mercer; Charles Peterson .
One would think that with the addition of one of punk rock's best guitarists, ex-Didjit Rick Sims, the Supersuckers would easily recover from the departure of Ron Heathman and maybe be the better for it. But, as Sacrilicious painfully illustrates, Heathman added much more bulk to The Supersuckers' sound than Sims provides here. While Sacrilicious offers less of the spirited blunt edge found on La Mano Cornuda, songs like the amphetamine-country stampede of "Born With A Tail" and the Bourbon St. blues shuffle of "Don't Turn Blue" thankfully expand The Supersuckers' musical vocabulary. Most, however, are unfortunately indistinct hard-rock songs, but give this new lineup time to evolve. ~ Matt Carlson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Supersuckers

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 67,203
  • UPC: 098787030327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: