Shudder To Think Funeral at the Movies / Ten Spot

Funeral at the Movies / Ten Spot
10 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WY2J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Dischord


  • Buy for $0.991.Chocolate
  • Buy for $0.992.Lies About the Sky
  • Buy for $0.993.Day Ditty
  • Buy for $0.994.Crosstown Traffic
  • Buy for $0.995.Red House
  • Buy for $0.996.Funeral at the Movies
  • Buy for $0.997.I Blew Away / Ride That Sexy Horse
  • Buy for $0.998.Heaven Here
  • Buy for $0.999.Jade-Dust Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9910.Rag
  • Buy for $0.9911.About Three Dreams
  • Buy for $0.9912.Speak
  • Buy for $0.9913.Corner of My Eye
  • Buy for $0.9914.Summertime Train
  • Buy for $0.9915.On the Rain
  • Buy for $0.9916.Vacation Brain
  • Buy for $0.9917.Yes
  • 18.Tony Told Me

Product Description:

A compilation of two early releases, Funeral at the Movies/Ten Spot is part of Shudder to Think's beginning. The band's sound is already surprisingly complex and original, performed by their first lineup (which would splinter after one more release). Funeral at the Movies includes the first version of the recurring "Red House" (later re-recorded for the Hit Liquor EP and 50,000 B.C.), a manic version of Jimi Hendrix's "Crosstown Traffic," and the early fan favorite "Chocolate." The first half of the lengthy "I Blew Away/Ride That Sexy Horse" is a soaring R.E.M.-sounding rocker, while the second half is nothing more than feedback with talking over the noise. Parts of Ten Spot were recorded a full year prior to Funeral, but the sound and formula are strikingly similar. "About Three Dreams" contains some intricate bass and guitar work courtesy of Stuart Hill and Chris Matthews, while "Corner of My Eye" shows off Mike Russell's tribal drumming. And there are plenty of vocal heroics throughout, courtesy of the multi-talented Craig Wedren. The production and overall sound of the two albums aren't as textured as future releases would turn out to be, as the group opts for a more straightforward approach. However, this compilation was an important stepping stone for the future musical schizophrenia of Shudder to Think. ~ Greg Prato

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Shudder To Think

Product Info

  • UPC: 718751795525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)