Daniel Johnston Artistic Vice

Artistic Vice
3 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33RKA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Instinct Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Option - 5/29/92, p.113
"..naive, brilliant, disturbing, and seductive...This album, like the rest of his catalog, will likely outlive us all.."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.122
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is possibly his best album, with some great, if always rather unsettling tunes."


  • Buy for $0.991.My Life Is Starting Over
  • Buy for $0.992.Honey I Sure Miss You
  • Buy for $0.993.I Feel So High
  • Buy for $0.994.A Ghostly Story
  • Buy for $0.995.Tell Me Now
  • Buy for $0.996.Easy Listening
  • Buy for $0.997.I Know Caspar
  • Buy for $0.998.The Startling Facts
  • Buy for $0.999.Hoping
  • Buy for $0.9910.It's Got to Be Good
  • Buy for $0.9911.Happy Soul
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Dream Is Over
  • Buy for $0.9913.Love of My Life
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Killed the Monster
  • Buy for $0.9915.Laurie
  • Buy for $0.9916.Fate Will Get Done

Product Description:

Personnel: Daniel Johnston (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dale Dudgeon, Tom Gruda, Donny Spencer, Brent Conkle (guitar); Mike West (bass guitar); Fred McMahan (drums).
ARTISTIC VICE was the first album on which Daniel Johnston fronted a band. On earlier works, the spare songs received musical accompanied from either a single keyboard or guitar. Johnson's first recordings were made a available in a series of primitively made self-released cassette tapes. These were later compiled onto several albums, including the highly recommended YIP/JUMP MUSIC. Notoriety paved the way for Johnston's first album (titled 1990), which was recorded in a true studio.
For this set, which was recorded in a house in West Virginia, Johnston assembled a six-piece band (four of whom are guitarists). It's a testament to Johnston's own innate musicality that the songs lend themselves so perfectly to the casual accompaniment heard here. They can shift easily from quiet country balladry to punkish rave ups. As always, his songs are direct, honest, hook-laden, and imminently coverable. One listen to "Tell Me Now" will yield the names of 10 artists who should record it.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Daniel Johnston

Product Info

  • UPC: 720841062424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)