7 Seconds New Wind

New Wind
10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.87 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $2.11 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  35YYX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Better Youth Org.


  • Buy for $0.991.The Night Away
  • Buy for $0.992.New Wind
  • Buy for $0.993.Somebody Help Me Scream
  • Buy for $0.994.Tied Up in Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.995.Grown Apart
  • Buy for $0.996.Man Enough to Care
  • Buy for $0.997.Opinion of Feelings
  • Buy for $0.998.The Inside
  • Buy for $0.999.Calendar
  • Buy for $0.9910.Expect to Change
  • Buy for $0.9911.Still Believe
  • Buy for $0.9912.Put These Words to Music
  • Buy for $0.9913.Just One Day
  • Buy for $0.9914.Colour Blind Jam

Product Description:

7 Seconds includes: Kevin Seconds (vocals, guitar); Steve Youth (guitar); Joseph Bansuelo (bass); Troy Mowatt (drums).
Principally recorded at Radio Tokyo, Venice, California in 1986.
Personnel: Kevin Seconds (vocals); Ron Doig, Steve Youth (guitar); Troy Mowat (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Jack Skinner.
Recording information: Inner Ear Studios, Washington DC (09/1985).
Arranger: 7 Seconds.
The great irony of hardcore punk is that for a style that claims to be so fervently about breaking rules and fighting oppression, few music fans come down so hard on bands for stepping outside of the accepted stylistic norms as hardcore fans. For 1987's New Wind, 7 Seconds took a giant step away from hardcore orthodoxy, and paid the price in terms of the band's diminished standing in the hardcore community. The pointed thank-you to U2 in the album's credits was only the first warning sign, although the album sounds as if it was inspired more by the positive message of albums like War and The Unforgettable Fire than U2's actual music; these are not big rock anthems with one-chord guitar drones, but straight-up pop songs with hardcore roots, not really all that far from what bands like the Replacements or Soul Asylum were doing. (The downright bouncy "Tied Up in Rhythm" sounds a little like the Young Fresh Fellows!) The only real misstep is the botched closer, "Colour Blind Jam," a nearly eight-minute electronic dub experiment that's vaguely amusing for a couple of minutes and then supremely annoying. Other than that, New Wind is actually one of 7 Seconds' most underrated and appealing albums. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for 7 Seconds

Product Info

  • UPC: 020282001427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm