The Jesus Lizard Head / Pure

Head / Pure
7 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  S3R7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 29, 1990
  • Label: Touch & Go Records


  • 1.One Evening
  • 2.S.D.B.J.
  • 3.My Own Urine
  • 4.If You Had Lips
  • 5.7 vs. 8
  • 6.Pastoral
  • 7.Waxeater
  • 8.Good Thing
  • 9.Tight 'N Shiny
  • 10.Killer Mchann
  • 11.Blockbuster
  • 12.Bloody Mary
  • 13.Rabid Pigs
  • 14.Starlet
  • 15.Happy Bunny Goes Fluff-Fluff Along

Product Description:

The Jesus Lizard: David Yow (vocals); Duane Denison (guitar); David Wm. Sims (bass); Mac McNeilly (drums).
Additional personnel: Suzy Korn, The Hanger Men's Choir (background vocals).
Principally recorded at Chicago Recording Company, Chicago, Illinois in December, 1989.
Personnel: David Yow (vocals); Duane Denison (guitar); Mac McNeilly (drums).
With drummer Mac McNeilly in to provide a little more human swing to the proceedings -- appropriate given guitarist Duane Denison's own jazz-madness tendencies -- the Jesus Lizard fully launched themselves on an unsuspecting world with HEAD. The brutal, bass-heavy slam of the music, testament to the uncredited engineering/producing abilities of Steve Albini, gives the whole record a punch that most indie rock didn't have at the time, looking ahead to where similarly minded groups like Helmet (also produced by Albini) would end up soon enough. The McNeilly and bassist David Wm. Sims rhythm dictates the songs, letting Denison and vocalist David Yow both find their own way over the chugging brusqueness as they see fit. Yow for the most part sounds like he's singing through a wall or through a huge amount of cotton gauze, making his lyrical tales of violence, twisted living, and the like one for lyric-sheet readers to work out, but the amped-up roars and leers evident in his vocals do a fine job on their own. Then again, the song titles aren't exactly ones to suggest flowers and roses, as "My Own Urine," "Waxeater," and the perfectly creepy "If You Had Lips" make rather clear. Yow's Birthday Party worship is now one more readily shared by the band with McNeilly's presence, the fusion of dark blues and proto-punk rampage -- "My Own Urine," in fact, being a good example of just that -- let to run loose. The stentorian stomp of "7 vs. 8" and the stabbing attack of "Good Thing" in particular might as well be early Cave on the vocals, Yow in mad-preacher mode in excelsis. There's a definite weird playful touch all the band's own, though, whether it's in the sassy strut that starts "If You Had Lips" or even, on the start of "Pastoral," a bit of chiming guitar prettiness. (The 2009 remastered reissue of Head included the complete contents of 1989's Pure EP.)

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Jesus Lizard

Product Info

  • UPC: 036172075423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)