Herb Ellis The Midnight Roll

The Midnight Roll
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $10.79
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.09 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $5.90 (49% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  37ES7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Disconforme


  • 1.Broadway
  • 2.Gravy Waltz
  • 3.Poor Darlin' Nellie
  • 4.Old Folks
  • 5.Roy Showed
  • 6.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 7.Willow Weep for Me
  • 8.Symphony
  • 9.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 10.It Don't Mean a Thing
  • 11.Harper's Ferry (John Brown's Body)
  • 12.Herb's Here
  • 13.I Won't Love You
  • 14.You'd Better Know It
  • 15.Too Bad
  • 16.Alicia
  • 17.Gravy Waltz (1961 Quartet Version)

Product Description:

Herb Ellis is known primarily for playing with small ensembles, so this recording as part of an octet is a departure for the great guitarist. This "all-star" combo includes trumpeter Roy Eldridge in a sublimated role, while tenor saxophonist Buddy Tate is featured a bit more, and pianist Ray Bryant solidifies the nucleus of a very talented band of old pros and unsung heroes. The fare is split between standards, originals, and favorites, including Duke Ellington's rousing "It Don't Mean a Thing" with the jamming Eldridge leading the charge. The classic "Gravy Waltz" of Ray Brown is done here, as Bryant's deft chords with the sax and trumpets form a strolling, impenetrable front line -- one of the very best, fully formed and realized versions of this great song. Ellis contributed the folkish "Poor Darlin' Nellie," derived from the story of banished African-American slave Nellie Gray, a light rural swing with no horns save Assunto's muted trumpet solo. "Roy Showed" is a bouncy bop blues punctuated by Tate's tenor as Ellis further accents with sharp strumming chords. Everybody plays together in sweet agreement on "Broadway," a stock jam tune that shows the band has no issues with grandstanding, egos, or finding enough space to play. The band strips down to a trio on the pristine ballad "Willow Weep for Me" and Tate presents a spare, spacious melody line during "It Makes No Difference Now." The balance of this group should duly receive high marks (especially since it was a one-shot).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Herb Ellis

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436542013802
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)