Billy Bragg The Internationale / Live and Dubious (2-CD)

The Internationale / Live and Dubious (2-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  WYRF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Yep Roc Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Magnet - p.115
"Bragg dresses each track in local color, giving 'Nicaragua Nicaraguita' a deeply echoed a cappella reading and infusing 'My Youngest Son Came Home Today' with an angry Northern Irish melancholy."


  • 1.The Internationale
  • 2.I Dreamed I Saw Phil Ochs Last Night
  • 3.The Marching Song of the Covert Battalions
  • 4.Blake's Jerusalem
  • 5.Nicaragua Nicaraguita
  • 6.The Red Flag
  • 7.My Youngest Son Came Home Today
  • 8.Introduction
  • 9.Help the Save the Youth of America
  • 10.Think Again
  • 11.Chile Your Waters Run Red Through Soweto
  • 12.Days Like These
  • 13.To Have and to Have Not
  • 14.There Is Power in a Union
  • 15.Joe Hill - (bonus track)
  • 16.This Land Is Your Land - (bonus track)
  • 17.Never Cross a Picket Line - (bonus track)
  • 18.Change Is Gonna Come, A - (bonus track)
  • 19.Miner's Life, A - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Chris Thompson (banjo).
Recording information: Cathouse Studio (02/1986-03/1990); East Berlin, DDR (02/1986-03/1990); Gateway Studios (02/1986-03/1990); Lithuania, USSR (02/1986-03/1990); Nicaragua (02/1986-03/1990); Pavilion Studios, London, England (02/1986-03/1990); Pier House Studio (02/1986-03/1990).
Translator: Sabine Troendle.
Released as a stopgap in between the WORKER'S PLAYTIME and DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME albums, THE INTERNATIONALE is a seven-track EP structured around a Bragg-penned rewrite of the 1871 anthem commemorating the fall of the Paris Commune. Though this is not Bragg's most varied release (the political orientation of each track is very blunt), it does make for a very focused and poignant listening experience. The music is very stripped down (especially after the instrumentation of the previous record), drawing attention specifically to the lyrics.
Three of the songs--the title track, "I Dreamed I Saw Phil Ochs Last Night," and "The Marching Song of the Covert Battalions"--feature Bragg lyrics, though only the last features his music. The other four tracks are all covers, including "Blake's Jerusalem," a musical rendition of one of William Blake's better-known poems. The standout track of the collection is "The Red Flag," a reel complete with controlled peels of guitar, which was originally written in 1889, but survives the this day as the anthem of England's Labour Party (albeit in an altered form).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Billy Bragg

Product Info

  • UPC: 634457260429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)