City of Angels [Original Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

City of Angels [Original Soundtrack]
280 ratings
SALE: $13.49
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36SEH
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 31, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Reprise / WEA


  • 1.If God Will Send His Angels - U2
  • 2.Uninvited - Alanis Morissette
  • 3.Red House - Jimi Hendrix
  • 4.Feelin' Love - Paula Cole
  • 5.Mama, You Got a Daughter - John Lee Hooker
  • 6.Angel - Sarah McLachlan
  • 7.Iris - Goo Goo Dolls
  • 8.I Grieve - Peter Gabriel
  • 9.I Know - Jude
  • 10.Further on up the Road - Eric Clapton
  • 11.Angel Falls, An - Gabriel Yared
  • 12.Unfeeling Kiss, The - Gabriel Yared
  • 13.Spreading Wings - Gabriel Yared
  • 14.City of Angels - Gabriel Yared

Product Description:

Original score composed by Gabriel Yared.
Soundtrack compilation producer: Danny Bramson.
All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
"Iris" was nominated for a 1999 Grammy for Record Of The Year, Song Of The Year and Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. "Uninvited" won the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance and Best Rock Song, and was nominated for Best Song Written For A Motion Picture Or For Television. "City Of Angels" was nominated for a 1999 Grammy for Best Instrumental Composition Written For A Motion Picture Or For Television.
Personnel: Johnny Rzeznik (vocals, guitar); Jude Christodal (vocals, acoustic guitar); Carys Lane, Alanis Morissette (vocals); David Rhodes (guitar); Dario Rossetti-Bonell, Carlos Bonnell, Rob Cavallo, Nick Lashley (acoustic guitar); Clif Magness (electric guitar); Tim Pierce (mandolin); Rolf Wilson, Kenneth Sillito (violin); Jamie Muhoberac (piano, keyboards); Damir Prcic, Paul Kimble (chamberlin); Peter Gabriel (keyboards, programming, sampler); Bill Sewell (upright bass); Gary Novak, Mike Malinin (drums, percussion); Brian Macleod , Manu Katch‚ (drums); Dominique Mahut, Will White (percussion); Alan Jenkins, Dave Lawson, Dickie Chappell, Georges Rodi, Kirsty Whalley, Alex Swift, Carmen Rizzo (programming).
Audio Mixers: Howie B; Jack Joseph Puig; James Barton ; Mark "Spike" Stent; Allen Sides ; Pierre Marchand; Roger Moutenot; Steve Osborne.
Director: Jenny O'Grady.
In the bittersweet "Angel," Sarah McLachlan croons, "You are pulled from the wreckage of your sudden reverie/You're in the arms of the angel/May you find some comfort here." U2"s "If God Will Send His Angels" asks the question, "If God will send his angels/And if God will send a sign/Where do we go?" The spiritual tone of this soundtrack, laden with angelic images, is set from the beginning, occasionally brought down to earth by bluesy entries like John Lee Hooker's "Mama, You Got a Daughter" and Eric Clapton's "Further On Up the Road." A major part of CITY OF ANGELS' appeal is its inclusion of previously unreleased material from Goo Goo Dolls, Peter Gabriel, and Alanis Morissette, whose "Uninvited" is a riveting, dramatically layered ballad which veers from sweet to edgy and stark.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 280 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,560
  • UPC: 093624686729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)