Cole Porter It's de Lovely: The Authentic Cole Porter Collection

It's de Lovely: The Authentic Cole Porter
17 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.44 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $1.54 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36SEF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: RCA


  • 1.Anything Goes
  • 2.You're the Top
  • 3.Begin the Beguine
  • 4.From This Moment On
  • 5.You Do Something to Me
  • 6.It's De-Lovely
  • 7.Night and Day
  • 8.Let's Misbehave
  • 9.Don't Fence Me In
  • 10.You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • 11.I Love Paris
  • 12.Easy to Love
  • 13.Just One of Those Things
  • 14.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 15.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 16.I Get a Kick Out of You
  • 17.Night and Day - (bonus track)
  • 18.You Do Something to Me - (bonus track)
  • 19.Night and Day - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Cole Porter (vocals); Cole Porter; Frank Sinatra, Lew Conrad, Rosemary Clooney (vocals); Bubber Miley (trumpet); Dinah Shore, Fred Astaire, Al Bowlly, Lena Horne, Phil Saxe (vocals); Jim Hall (guitar); Paul Desmond (alto saxophone).
Liner Note Authors: Will Friedwald; Barry Feldman.
Recording information: Clinton Recording Studio, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Hollywood Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Hollywood, CA (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Liederkranz Hall, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Manhattan Center, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); RCA Studio, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Studio A, Hollywood, CA (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Victor Studio #1, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Victor Studio #2, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004); Webster Hall, New York, NY (03/01/1928-05/05/2004).
Arrangers: Esquivel; Joe Reisman; Manny Albam; Vince Giordano; Axel Stordahl.
Cole Porter holds a place in history as one of America's most legendary songsmiths. Indeed, he eclipses most of his contemporaries, save Irving Berlin and George Gershwin. A composer of matchless wit and charm, Porter penned countless tunes that blossomed into chart-toppers and mainstream jazz standards.
IT'S DE LOVELY represents the wide range of interpretations that have been applied to the composer's work over the years. The disc includes the now-famous performance of "Night and Day" by a young Frank Sinatra, a cowboy version of "Don't Fence Me In" by Roy Rogers, and jazz versions of "You Do Something to Me" and "I've Got You Under My Skin" by saxophonists Sonny Rollins and Paul Desmond, respectively. The opening tracks, which feature Porter himself on vocals, are the high points of this album. These selections are unique for two reasons. First, Porter rarely performed his own music, and second, the big-band arrangements that accompany him were recorded in 2004, seven decades after Porter laid down his vocal tracks. Listeners can hear what it might have sounded like had Porter taken his performing career as seriously as his passion for songwriting.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Cole Porter

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,754
  • UPC: 828766218022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Vocals genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)