Carter Burwell The General's Daughter

The General's Daughter
45 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36S5C
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 15, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Milan Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 11/99, pp.120-2
4 stars out of 5 - "...[Carter] Burwell's orchestral stuff can be summed up by the title of track 4, 'Exercise In Darkness': unsettling, otherworldly and offsetting a recurring twangy riff with church-bell portent. Plus a snatch of Amazing Grace. Fine work."


  • 1.She Began to Lie - (with Katherine Shipp / Christine Shipp)
  • 2.Mighty Good Road - (with Kelly Pace)
  • 3.Rachel Rocket - (with Wash Dennis / Charles Sims)
  • 4.Gonna Rise and Fly
  • 5.Exercise in Darkness
  • 6.Epiphytic Shuffle
  • 7.The Body
  • 8.West Point
  • 9.The General's Story
  • 10.Congratulations
  • 11.Footprints
  • 12.The Tape?
  • 13.The Conspiracy
  • 14.Kent's Story
  • 15.The Hurt Locker
  • 16.Out of Her Misery
  • 17.The General's End
  • 18.O Fortuna - (with Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra / CSR Symphony Orchestra)
  • 19.All Through the Night - (with Ray Colcord)
  • 20.She Began to Lie (Not from Film) - (Remix, remix)

Product Description:

Recorded at Paramount Pictures Scoring Stage M, Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Simon West.
Audio Remixers: Russell Ziecker; Greg Hale Jones.
Recording information: Paramount Pictures, Scoring Stage M., LA, CA.
Editors: Barbara McDermott; Adam Smalley.
Carter Burwell's score for the Simon West-directed John Travolta suspense drama The General's Daughter is superb, blending blues, electronic dance, and classical in completely unpredictable, evocative ways. It's one of the highlights of the film, and it's the best thing about the soundtrack album, which also includes the pop, blues, and classical tunes that were scattered through the film. Although their presence is necessary on a soundtrack -- some listeners want soundtracks to be an aural representation of the film -- they distract from Burwell's excellent work. Surely, a complete score will be released in the future, but for the time being, it's nice to have this terrific music available in some form on disc. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 45 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Carter Burwell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 111,674
  • UPC: 731383588525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)