City of God [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

City of God [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]
9 ratings
Sale: $17.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.32 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.76 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  G4XH
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 14, 2003
  • Label: Milan Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 4/03, p.100
4 stars out of 5 - "..A soundtrack in which the frantic party sounds are peeled back to reveal a dark and unforgiving heart..."


  • 1.Meu Nome E Ze
  • 2.Vida de Otario
  • 3.Funk da Virada
  • 4.Estoria da Boca
  • 5.Na Rua, Na Chuva, Ha Fazenda (Casinha de Sape)
  • 6.A Transa
  • 7.Metamorfose Ambulante
  • 8.Nem Vem que Nao Tem
  • 9.Preciso Me Encontrar
  • 10.Alvorada
  • 11.Convite Para Vida
  • 12.No Caminho Do Bem
  • 13.Morte Ze Pequeno
  • 14.Batucada - (DJ Camillo Roche & DJ Yah remix)

Product Description:

Original score composed by D'Antonio Pinto and Ed Cortes.
Performers include: Hyldon, Tim Maia, Raul Seixas, Cartola, Simonal.
In Brazil's poverty stricken City of God, crime is a way of life. Parents are dead, locked up, or otherwise engaged. As in Oliver Twist -- one of this thrilling epic's many unlikely influences -- the children of the slums take their cues from whatever parental surrogates they can find. No, not the cops or local politicians (who are probably on the take anyway), but rather the pushers and thieves who really control the city, like this film's psychotics Little Z‚ and charismatic Knockout Ned. But there's one bright spot amidst all the petty jealousies and violent reprisals: the music. Set in the 1960s and '70s, Ant“nio Pinto Junior and Ed C“rtez' swinging soundtrack doesn't concentrate on the expected Brazilian musical styles, like bossa nova or samba, but rather heavy funk, space rock, and other evocative, scene-setting excursions into the dominant musical expressions of the day. "Meu Nome e Z‚" commands attention from the start, opening as it does with the sound of Z‚'s gruff voice, and segueing into a bass-heavy throwdown worthy of the Ohio Players, while the brief "Vida de Otario" has a pronounced Funkadelic feel. "Metamorfose Ambulante," which evokes David Bowie and Roxy Music (particularly in terms of the soaring vocals) and "No Caminho do Bem," which evokes Germany's Can (circa the twisted disco of "I Want More"), are further highlights. The soundtrack comes to a close -- and is brought up to date -- with a techno remix of "Batucada" by DJ Camilo Rocha and DJ YAH (featuring again, as in the first track, the voice of the nefarious Little Z‚). ~ Kathleen C. Fennessy

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 731383600722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)