The Almanac Singers Which Side Are You On? - The Best Of The Almanac Singers

Which Side Are You On? - The Best Of The Almanac
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  37CG7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 14, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013


  • 1.Ground Hog
  • 2.Ride an Old Paint
  • 3.Hard, Ain't It Hard
  • 4.House of the Rising Sun
  • 5.Babe O' Mine
  • 6.State of Arkansas
  • 7.Side by Side
  • 8.Away, Rio
  • 9.Blow the Man Down
  • 10.Blow Ye Winds, Heigh Ho
  • 11.The Coast of High Barbary
  • 12.The Golden Vanity
  • 13.Haul Away, Joe
  • 14.The Sinking of the Reuben James
  • 15.Union Maid
  • 16.Talking Union
  • 17.All I Want
  • 18.Get Thee Behind Me Satan
  • 19.Song for Bridges
  • 20.Which Side Are You on?
  • 21.The Dodger Song
  • 22.Plow Under
  • 23.Liza Jane
  • 24.Deliver the Goods
  • 25.Billy Boy
  • 26.Belt-Line Girl
  • 27.Ballad of October
  • 28.Washington Breakdown
  • 29.Round and Round Hitler's Grave
  • 30.C for Conscription
  • 31.The Strange Death of John Doe

Product Description:

Personnel: Pete Seeger (vocals, banjo); Woody Guthrie (vocals, harmonica); Arthur Stern, Millard Lampell, Bess Lomax Hawes, Sam Gary, Carolyn White, Lee Hays (vocals); Richard Taiter, Joe Foster (synthesizer).
Liner Note Author: Nicole Garcia.
Recording information: 03/1941-02/1942.
As much a political and philosophical collective as they were an actual singing group, the Almanac Singers, whose entire recorded output was done in the span of a year between March 1941 and February 1942, were in many ways the godfathers of the urban folk revival that broke into the commercial radar (and the pop charts) two decades later. Anchored by the hybrid banjo sound (part Appalachian, part his own invention) of Pete Seeger, the group also included, at one point or another, Lee Hays, Millard Lampell, Bess Lomax, Arthur Stern, Sis Cunningham, Josh White and his wife Carol White, and when it suited him, Woody Guthrie, who famously noted that the Almanac Singers were "the only group in the world that rehearsed on stage." A lesson in applied folk song, the group played Southern folk songs given a whole new utility by being filtered through a left-leaning political agenda and a strong belief in the power of labor unions. The Almanac Singers may have sounded like a stylized and urban version of a mountain string band, but they were hardly the folks you'd call to play a Saturday night sugaree. Hit the picket line on Monday morning, though, and this was your band. This 31-track, single-disc set from Britain's Rev-Ola Records contains virtually everything of note that the Almanac Singers recorded, including an intimate, unassuming version of Guthrie's "Hard, Ain't It Hard," a decidedly non-blues take on "House of the Rising Sun," and a stirring rendition of "The Sinking of the Rueben James." The sound is wonderful, bringing out the loose (and as Guthrie reminds) unrehearsed intimacy that was the Almanac Singers greatest strength. Everything you need is here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929448223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)