Phish Ventura (6-CD)

Ventura (6-CD)
Only 7 copies left
Price: $35.98
List Price: $39.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
sku:  37CAA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: June 18, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Jemp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.NICU
  • 2.Wolfman's Brother
  • 3.Chalk Dust Torture
  • 4.Water in the Sky
  • 5.Stash
  • 6.Weigh
  • 7.Piper
  • 8.Cars Trucks Buses
  • 9.Character Zero

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Punch You in the Eye
  • 2.Free
  • 3.David Bowie
  • 4.Cities
  • 5.David Bowie

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Bouncing Around the Room
  • 2.Uncle Pen
  • 3.Prince Caspian
  • 4.Fire
  • 5.My Soul
  • 6.Ventura '97 Soundcheck Jam

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Bathtub Gin
  • 2.Dirt
  • 3.Poor Heart
  • 4.Lawn Boy
  • 5.My Sweet One
  • 6.Birds of a Feather
  • 7.Theme from the Bottom
  • 8.Water in the Sky
  • 9.The Moma Dance
  • 10.Split Open and Melt

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Drowned
  • 2.Makisupa Polliceman
  • 3.Maze
  • 4.Sea and Sand
  • 5.Prince Caspian
  • 6.Harry Hood

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Sexual Healing
  • 2.Hold Your Head Up
  • 3.Halley's Comet
  • 4.Ventura '98 Soundcheck Jam

Product Description:

Personnel: Trey Anastasio (vocals, guitar); Page McConnell (vocals, keyboards); Jonathan Fishman (vocals, drums); Mike Gordon (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Jon Altschiller.
Recording information: Venture County Fairgrounds, Ventura, CA (07/20/1997/07/20/1998).
A six-disc archival set, Ventura chronicles summer concerts Phish gave at the Ventura County Fairgrounds in the back half of the '90s, by which time their status as the titans of jam was well-established. The first show here is from July of 1997, the second performed a year later, which means both arrived during the two-year gap separating 1996's Billy Breathes and 1998's The Story of the Ghost -- two years where the band's popularity was on the rise and it certainly seemed like a crossover was perhaps within their sites. That crossover never happened and these two shows indicate the band never seriously thought about moving into the mainstream, preferring to ride a sweet, hazy, sun-soaked vibe that fits Southern California in the late summer. A few covers surface -- Jimi Hendrix's "Fire" was played in 1997, Marvin Gaye's "Sexual Healing" in 1998 -- and soundcheck jams round out the third disc of each show, but the appeal of Ventura is, as always, how Phish tackle their core catalog, choosing to dig deep on "David Bowie" and let "Halley's Comet" float out as coda in 1998. It's a good summer soundtrack for Phisheads. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Phish

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 103,475
  • UPC: 825084976924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)