English National Opera Orchestra Street Scene: 1989 English National Opera Cast

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
3 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $38.98
Your Price: $35.08
You Save: $3.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  JAY 1232

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 24, 1996
  • Label: Jay Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Introduction
  • 2.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Ain't it awful, the heat?
  • 3.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: I've got a marble and a star / Scene
  • 4.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Get a load of that/scene
  • 5.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: When a woman has a baby
  • 6.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / She shouldn't be staying out nights
  • 7.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Somehow I never could believe
  • 8.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / Get a load of that! / Scene
  • 9.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Ice cream sextet / Scene
  • 10.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Let things be like they always was / Scene
  • 11.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / Wrapped in a ribbon and tied in a bow / Scene
  • 12.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Lonely House
  • 13.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / Wouldn't you like to be on Broadway
  • 14.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: What good would the moon be?
  • 15.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / Moon faced, starry eyed / Dance

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Scene / Come on
  • 2.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Remember that I care
  • 3.Street Scene, opera: Act 1: Finaletto
  • 4.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Introduction / Catch me if you can / Scene
  • 5.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Scene / There'll be trouble
  • 6.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: I tried to be a good wife to him / Scene
  • 7.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: A boy like you / Scene
  • 8.Street Scene, opera: Act 2:We'll go away together / Scene
  • 9.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: The Murder
  • 10.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: The woman who lived up there
  • 11.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Interlude
  • 12.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Scene / Lullaby
  • 13.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Scene / Oh officer
  • 14.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Finale - I loved her too
  • 15.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Finale - Don't forget the lilac bush
  • 16.Street Scene, opera: Act 2: Finale - Ain't it awful, the heat?

Product Description:

Lyricist: Langston Hughes.
Kurt Weill's 1947 Broadway musical STREET SCENE went unproduced in the U.K. after its unsuccessful initial production, and it continued to be largely ignored in Great Britain in subsequent decades, even as it began to gain footing among American opera companies. Then, curiously, there were two major British productions in the same year, 1989; one undertaken by the Scottish Opera in Glasgow, the other by the English National Opera in London--both were recorded. This one is billed as the Original London Cast album, which is technically accurate, even though usually, when a production follows the first one by 42 years, even in another country, it's thought of as a revival. This recording, made in the weeks after the October 12, 1989, London opening, include some overlap in casting with the Scottish Opera production (Meriel Dickinson, Blythe Duff, and Matthew Costello are on both recordings, playing the same small parts in each). Specifically, this album treats the work more as a Broadway show, while the Scottish Opera album wants to claim it for opera houses. The cast here, while exhibiting obvious signs of vocal training, sings with a sense of the meaning of the lyrics and the varieties of musical styles, while the opera singers from the Scottish Opera album are more concerned with the beauty of their vocal tones. Even the dialogue sections differ, with the Scottish Opera characterizations larger and more stylized, and the ones on this album more detailed and naturalistic. Going for opera legitimacy, the Scottish recording tends to underplay the numbers written as show tunes, such as "Wrapped in a Ribbon and Tied in a Bow" and "Wouldn't You Like to Be on Broadway," and the swing dance tune "Moon Faced, Starry Eyed." This album gives them their due, with a young Catherine Zeta Jones getting her showcase in the latter. As a result, this recording is the more satisfying of the two, and truer to the work as originally conceived. It's also a far more extensive rendering of the score than the Original Broadway Cast album, valuable as that LP (a lavish effort for its time) remains.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 605288123221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items