Swing Kids [Original Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

Swing Kids [Original Soundtrack]
82 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  H76Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Hollywood Records


  • 1.Sing, Sing, Sing (With a Swing)
  • 2.Nothing to Report
  • 3.Shout and Feel It
  • 4.It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 5.The Letter
  • 6.Flat Foot Floogee
  • 7.Arvid Beaten
  • 8.Swingtime in the Rockies
  • 9.Daphne
  • 10.Training For Utopia
  • 11.Life Goes To A Party / Jumpin' At The Woodside
  • 12.Goodnight, My Love
  • 13.Ashes
  • 14.Bei Mir Bist du Schon
  • 15.The Bismarck
  • 16.Swing Heil

Product Description:

Personnel: Abe Most, Dan Higgins, Robert Tricarico, Gene Cipriano, Curt McGettrick (saxophones & woodwinds), Jerry Hey, Gary Grant, Larry Hall, Chuck Findley (trumpets), Bill Reichenbach, Lloyd Ulyate, John Johnson (trombones), Sid Page (violin), Michael Lang (piano), Dennis Budimir, Dean Parks (guitars), Ken Wild, Chuck Domonico (bass), Ralph Humphrey (drums).
Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather.
Instrumental score written and conducted by James Horner.
At its best, Swing Kids fills the listener with the relentless passion, sensuality, and joy that is swing music. Not tapping your feet or dancing to the material presented is nearly impossible. Unfortunately, composer James Horner also fills the album with moody orchestral music that takes away some of the momentum. Still, the best cuts are so overwhelmingly exciting that it remains a fine addition to any swing collection. Though many of the cuts are remakes, they are of such high standard that the quality of the recording isn't compromised. Highlights include Janis Siegel's remake of the Andrews Sisters' hit "Bei Mir Bist Du Schon and Count Basie's "Shout and Feel It." The King of Swing himself, Benny Goodman, is represented by three numbers. Sound quality is also excellent throughout the recording. Though this CD will never take the place of hearing the catalog of such important artists as Count Basie, Duke Ellington, or Benny Goodman, it is a fine introduction to whet the appetites of listeners who want to go deeper. ~ Michael Ofjord

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 82 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 720616135728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)