The Stranglers The Old Testament (The U.A. Studio Recordings 1977-1982) (5-CD)

The Old Testament (The U.A. Studio Recordings
Only 9 copies left
Sale: $26.99
SUPER SAVINGS: $25.88 Limited Time Only
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $4.11 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  379SV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: June 4, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013


  • 1.Sometimes
  • 2.Goodbye Toulouse
  • 3.London Lady
  • 4.Princess of the Streets
  • 5.Hanging Around
  • 6.Peaches
  • 7.(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)
  • 8.Ugly
  • 9.Down in the Sewer (Medley)
  • 10.Choosey Susie - from the free single with the album 'Rattus Norvegicus'
  • 11.Go Buddy Go - B side of the Peaches single
  • 12.I Feel Like a Wog
  • 13.Bitching
  • 14.Dead Ringer
  • 15.Dagenham Dave
  • 16.Bring On the Nubiles
  • 17.Something Better Change
  • 18.No More Heroes
  • 19.Peasant in the Big Shitty
  • 20.Burning Up Time
  • 21.English Towns
  • 22.School Mam
  • 23.Straighten Out - B side of the Something Better Change single
  • 24.5 Minutes
  • 25.Rok It to the Moon
  • 26.Tank
  • 27.Nice N' Sleazy
  • 28.Outside Tokyo
  • 29.Sweden (All Quiet On the Eastern Front)
  • 30.Hey! (Rise of the Robots)
  • 31.Toiler On the Sea
  • 32.Curfew
  • 33.Threatened
  • 34.In the Shadows
  • 35.Do You Wanna
  • 36.Death and Night and Blood (Yukio)
  • 37.Enough Time
  • 38.Shut Up - B side of the Nice 'N' Sleazy single
  • 39.Walk On By
  • 40.Mean to Me - from the free single with the Black and White Album
  • 41.Old Codger - From the single Walk On By
  • 42.Longships
  • 43.The Raven
  • 44.Dead Loss Angeles
  • 45.Ice
  • 46.Baroque Bordello
  • 47.Nuclear Device (The Wizard of Aus)
  • 48.Shah Shah a Go Go
  • 49.Don't Bring Harry
  • 50.Duchess
  • 51.The Meninblack (Waiting for 'Em) (Instrumental)
  • 52.Genetix
  • 53.Fools Rush Out - B side of The Duchess single
  • 54.Yellowcake UF6 - B side of the Nuclear Device single
  • 55.Vietnamerica - B side of Let Me Introduce Me To The Family
  • 56.Bear Cage
  • 57.Who Wants the World - Single A side
  • 58.Waltzinblack
  • 59.Just Like Nothing On Earth
  • 60.Second Coming
  • 61.Waiting for the Meninblack
  • 62.Turn the Centuries Turn
  • 63.Two Sunspots
  • 64.Four Horsemen
  • 65.Thrown Away
  • 66.Manna Machine
  • 67.Hallow to Our Men
  • 68.Top Secret - B side of Thrown Away
  • 69.Man in White - B side of Just Like Nothing On Earth
  • 70.Non Stop
  • 71.Everybody Loves You When You're Dead
  • 72.Tramp
  • 73.Let Me Introduce You to the Family
  • 74.Ain't Nothin' to It
  • 75.The Man They Love to Hate
  • 76.Pin Up
  • 77.It Only Takes Two to Tango
  • 78.Golden Brown
  • 79.How to Find True Love and Happiness in the Present Day
  • 80.La Folie
  • 81.Love 30 - B side of Golden Brown
  • 82.Strange Little Girl - Single A side
  • 83.Cruel Garden - Single B side
  • 84.Peaches (Radio Edit)
  • 85.Mony Mony
  • 86.Mean to Me
  • 87.No More Heroes (Radio Edit)
  • 88.Walk On By (Radio Edit)
  • 89.Sverige
  • 90.N'Emmenes Pas Harry
  • 91.Bear Cage (12'' Extended Mix)
  • 92.Shah Shah a Go Go (12'' Version)
  • 93.The Meninblack (Waiting for 'Em)
  • 94.La Folie (Radio Edit)
  • 95.Peasant in the Big Shitty (Live at The Nashville '76)
  • 96.Tits (Live at The Hope and Anchor)
  • 97.In the Shadows (Live at The Hope and Anchor) (Edit)
  • 98.(Get A) Grip (On Yourself) [Grip '89 Remix]

Product Description:

A lavish package celebrating the myriad bumps, bruises, and highlights of the Stranglers' earliest and best, the boastfully titled Old Testament is a four-CD set (five, in some editions) that spans the group's first six albums (up to 1981's La Folie), also including a number of non-LP singles and B-sides. (Physical editions of the box also contain an exhaustive -- if, boastful -- 112-page book, which makes the package all the more attractive for longtime fans who have long since hunter-gathered the rarities.) It would be a major gamble to make this your first Stranglers purchase, especially due to the 1997 release of The Hit Men, which runs through the band's stylistically varied singles and doesn't indulge too much in the Stranglers' lengthy deterioration phase(s). They were productive from 1977-1981, discounting the number of album tracks that really shouldn't have seen the light of day. Make no mistake, nearly every good thing they did can be found within these four discs, save for the odd later hit like 1984's soft rock gem "Skin Deep." The 80-plus songs on The Old Testament definitely prove the Stranglers to be worthy of a box set. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Stranglers

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099997502227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)