The Mambo Kings [2000 Original Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

The Mambo Kings [2000 Original Soundtrack]
11 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $2.10 (18% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X2AW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2000
  • Label: Elektra / WEA


  • 1.Ran Kan Kan - (Pablo Flores Mix, remix)
  • 2.Beautiful Maria of My Soul (Bella Maria de Mi Alma)
  • 3.La Dicha Mia
  • 4.Ran Kan Kan
  • 5.Cuban Pete
  • 6.Mambo Caliente
  • 7.Quiereme Mucho
  • 8.Sunny Ray
  • 9.Melao de Ca¤a
  • 10.Beautiful Maria of My Soul
  • 11.Para los Rumberos
  • 12.Perfidia
  • 13.Guantanamera
  • 14.Tea for Two
  • 15.Accidental Mambo
  • 16.Como Fue
  • 17.Tanga.Rumba-Afro-Cubana
  • 18.Beautiful Maria of My Soul

Product Description:

Producers include: Pablo Flores, Robert Kraft, Johnny Pacheco, Peter Asher, Los Lobos.
Compilation producer: Robert Kraft.
Includes liner notes by Oscar Hijuelos.
Personnel: Linda Ronstadt, Cesar Rosas (vocals); Luis Rodriquez, Dr. Luis Rodriguez (tres); Marianne Wagner (violin); Nancy Stenzen (cello); Tom Rose (clarinet); Mike Turre, Rick Rossi (saxophone); David Tofani (tenor saxophone); Steve Sacks (baritone saxophone); H‚ctor "Bomberito" Zarzuela, David "Piro" Rodr¡guez, Arturo Sandoval, Charlie Sepulveda (trumpet); David Taylor (trombone, bass trombone); Angel Papo Vasquez, Arturo Velasco (trombone); Joan Rotondi (piano); Joel Someillan (keyboards, programming); John Rodriguez (congas); Pancho Roman, Bobby Sanabria (timbales).
Audio Mixer: Bob Schaper.
Recording information: BMG Recording Studio (1992); Capitol Recording Studio, Los Angeles, CA (1992); Clinton Studio, NY (1992); Skyline Studios (1992); Soundtrack Studios (1992).
Arrangers: Pete Seeger ; Ray Santos; Arturo Sandoval.
Assembled here are just the kinds of mambos, rumbas, and cha cha cha's that set '50s bandrooms on fire and ushered in a true golden age of Cuban dance music. With only a couple of exceptions, the tracks were cut specially for the film and as such, add a novel, sweet sense of self-awareness to this classic soundtrack. Even when set apart from the thrilling cinematography of THE MAMBO KINGS, the music easily conjures joyful images of dancers tearing up the dance floors of New York City at a time when these bands were truly the royalty of the day.
From slow cookers like Linda Ronstadt's take on "Quiereme Mucho" and "Perfidia" and Beny More's classic "Como Fue," to up-tempo scorchers like trumpeter Arturo Sandoval's "Mambo Caliente" and timbal-king Tito Puente's "Para Los Rumberos," this is music delivered with passion and expertise. Also included is salsera Celia Cruz's lovely recording of "Guantanamera" with a full children's chorus. Elektra's updated edition adds a fresh sheen with an up-tempo club mix of "Ran Kan Kan" sung by the vivacious Olga Tanon, as well as a sultry rendition of "Beautiful Maria" by the hunky Antonio Banderas and deep-crooning Compay Segundo of Buena Vista Social Club fame.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 075596250528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)