Sunnyland Slim Smile on My Face

Smile on My Face
1 rating
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HADK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 23, 1999
  • Label: Delmark


  • 1.Bessie Mae
  • 2.Everytime I Get To Drinking
  • 3.Hard Luck Blues
  • 4.Smile On My Face
  • 5.I Had It Hard
  • 6.Juanita
  • 7.Be My Baby
  • 8.Cryin' For My Baby
  • 9.Soft And Mellow Stella
  • 10.Lonely Girl
  • 11.Depression Blues
  • 12.Lee's Boogie
  • 13.Everytime I Get To Drinking - (take 2)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Sunnyland Slim (vocals, piano); Lacy Gibson, Lee Jackson (vocals, guitar); Willie Black (bass); Fred Below (drums).
Recorded at P.S. Recording, Chicago, Illinois on March 8, 9 & 16, 1977. Includes liner notes by Jim O'Neal.
Personnel: Sunnyland Slim (vocals, piano, background vocals); Lacy Gibson, Lee Jackson (vocals, guitar); Fred Below (drums, snare drum).
Liner Note Author: Jim O'Neal.
Recording information: P.S. Recording, Chicago, IL (03/08/1977-03/16/1977).
Photographers: Steve Tomashefsky; Jim O'Neal.
One of the ten infamous Ralph Bass sessions from 1977, this teams Slim up with guitarist Lacy Gibson and the top-notch rhythm section of Willie Black and Fred Below for a loose and inspired session. The songs are tried-and-true staples from Sunnyland's songbook, and while Gibson sprays more modern licks, it's still the elder piano man who's the real star here. An extra bonus has guitarist Lee Jackson fronting the band on three tunes from the same session. A good one. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sunnyland Slim

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153073527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)