Earl Hooker An Introduction to Earl Hooker

An Introduction to Earl Hooker
3 ratings
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36S3R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Fuel 2000

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - p.73
"His slide mastery and his compositional skills remain standards by which other fretmen are judged."


  • Buy for $0.991.Blue Guitar
  • Buy for $0.992.Swear to Tell the Truth
  • Buy for $0.993.Blues in D Natural
  • Buy for $0.994.Galloping Horses a Lazy Mule
  • Buy for $0.995.Universal Rock
  • Buy for $0.996.Rockin' with the Kid
  • Buy for $0.997.Rockin' Wild
  • Buy for $0.998.How Long Can This Go On?
  • Buy for $0.999.These Cotton Pickin' Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Leading Brand
  • Buy for $0.9911.Nothing But Good
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Bright Sounds
  • Buy for $0.9913.Off the Hook
  • Buy for $0.9914.Square Dance Rock Pts. 1-2

Product Description:

Personnel: Earl Hooker (vocals, guitar); Magic Sam (guitar); Junior Wells (harmonica); Bill Dahl (programming).
Never much of a singer, Earl Hooker's biting slide guitar tone and on-stage flamboyance made him the consummate showman, while his versatility kept him in demand as a sideman. An Introduction to Earl Hooker is a brief set (even with four bonus tracks it struggles to get past 35 minutes in length) which collects early-'60s tracks Hooker cut with producer Mel London's Age, Chief, and Mel-Lon imprints. These are mostly instrumentals (Hooker's drummer, Harold Tidwell, handles vocals on "Swear to Tell the Truth"), and include Hooker's signature tune, 1961's "Blue Guitar" (a year later, Muddy Waters at Chess would add vocals to the same basic track for his "You Shook Me"), the striking "Blues in D Natural," and an intriguing duet with Magic Sam on the two-part "Square Dance Rock," which features guitar quotes from country standards "You Are My Sunshine" and "Walking the Floor Over You." The sound quality on these sides isn't too hot, but Hooker's guitar -- which is really the show -- always cuts through. 2003's Blue Guitar compilation from Japan's P-Vine Records covers a lot more ground and does a much better job of presenting Hooker's Chief/Age period. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Earl Hooker

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206155426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)