Cypress Hill Rise Up

Rise Up
Only 7 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  377HC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 19, 2010
  • Label: Priority Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.116
"[With] more redeeming moments than you'll find on most late-career rap offerings." -- Grade: B
Billboard (p.59) - "[I]t's the more substantial tracks on 'Rise Up' that smoke the competition, including the Marc Anthony- and Pitbull-assisted 'Armada Latina' and the reflective 'Carry Me Away.'"
Kerrang (Magazine) - p.51
"RISE UP is still at its best when dishing out slick hip-hop nuggets like 'Light IT UP' and the Wu-Tang-esque 'I Unlimited.'"
XXL (Magazine) (p.110) - "Though B-Real's production might not be quite as intricate as Muggs's detailed craftsmanship, it delivers a more spirited version of the classic Cypress feel..."


  • 1.It Ain't Nothin' - (featuring Young Dre)
  • 2.Light It Up
  • 3.Rise Up
  • 4.Get It Anyway
  • 5.Pass the Dutch - (featuring Evidence / The Alchemist)
  • 6.Bang Bang
  • 7.K.U.S.H.
  • 8.Get 'Em Up
  • 9.Carry Me Away - (featuring Mike Shinoda)
  • 10.Trouble Seeker - (featuring Daron Malakian)
  • 11.Take My Pain - (featuring Everlast)
  • 12.I Unlimited
  • 13.Armed & Dangerous
  • 14.Shut 'Em Down
  • 15.Armada Latina - (featuring Marc Anthony / Pitbull)

Product Description:

Personnel: Jay Turner (programming, scratches); Julio-G (scratches).
Photographers: James Minchin III; Frank Maddocks.
Cypress Hill's first album for Priority -- released under Snoop Dogg's tenure as the label's creative director -- is a four-years-in-the-making, against-all-odds success that earns its victory march cover art, at least for the most part. There are a couple merely good tracks -- "Pass the Dutch" being the most merely good -- that act as speed bumps on this otherwise exciting ride, which in typical Cypress Hill style, ramps up on the hater-slaying tracks and chills out on the weed numbers. Best of the former is the title track with special guest Tom Morello from Rage Against the Machine, while the best of the latter is the strain-listing "K.U.S.H." produced by B Real and Cypress-associate Sick Jacken. Somewhere in between is the slay-and-toke "Light It Up" where B-Real offers "I eat MCs up, you might wanna ease up/I squeeze on the trigger like I squeeze on a C-cup," while producer Pete Rock brings the soul with a Barry White sample. Usual producer Muggs only turns in two cuts, one being the dusty-sounding heart wrencher "Take My Pain" with Everlast on the bluesy chorus. Other genres like emo-rap ("Carry Me Away" with Mike Shinoda), crunching rock-rap ("Trouble Seeker" with Daron Malakian), and spicy Latin rap ("Armada Latina" with Pitbull, Marc Anthony, and a sweet Stephen Stills sample) are explored then conquered, and in spite of all these flavors and guest artists, the album remains Cypress', or at least B Real's, as the group's leader is more dominant than ever. At 15-songs long the album can stand tall after the required trimming, making Rise Up a giant leap in the right direction after the lukewarm Till Death Do Us Part. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Cypress Hill

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099962648127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)