Robyn Hitchcock Element of Light [Bonus Tracks]

Element of Light [Bonus Tracks]
7 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.22 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $2.76 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36RRV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Yep Roc Records


  • Buy for $0.991.If You Were a Priest
  • Buy for $0.992.Winchester
  • Buy for $0.993.Somewhere Apart
  • Buy for $0.994.Ted, Woody and Junior
  • Buy for $0.995.The President
  • Buy for $0.996.Raymond Chandler Evening
  • Buy for $0.997.Bass
  • Buy for $0.998.Airscape
  • Buy for $0.999.Never Stop Bleeding
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lady Waters & The Hooded One
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Black Crow Knows
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Crawling
  • Buy for $0.9913.The Leopard
  • Buy for $0.9914.Tell Me About Your Drugs
  • Buy for $0.9915.Sprinkling Dots
  • Buy for $0.9916.Upside-Down Church Blues
  • Buy for $0.9917.Into It
  • Buy for $0.9918.Neck
  • Buy for $0.9919.Bass
  • Buy for $0.9920.Lady Waters & The Hooded One

Product Description:

This reissue of ELEMENT OF LIGHT includes the original album plus four songs that were added as bonuses to the first CD issue, five previously unreleased demos and live tracks, and "The Can Opener," originally released on the 12-inch vinyl EP: IF YOU WERE A PRIEST.
Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, piano, bass, keyboards); Morris Windsor (guitar, drums, percussion, background vocals); Andy Metcalfe (piano, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion, background vocals); Roger Jackson (harmonica, electric piano, organ, keyboards, background vocals).
Additional personnel: James Fletcher (saxophone); Chris Cox (trumpet, acoustic bass, percussion).
Producers: Robyn Hitchcock, Andy Metcalfe.
Reissue producer: Jim Neill.
Engineers: Pat Collier, Steve Robertshaw.
Originally released on Relativity. Includes liner notes by Grant Alden.
Robyn Hitchcock/Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Morris Windsor (vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums); Andy Metcalfe (vocals, piano, organ, keyboards, bass instrument, drums); Roger Jackson (vocals, keyboards, bass instrument).
Personnel: Chris Cox (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Jessica Corcoran; Pat Collier; Andy Metcalfe; Robyn Hitchcock.
Audio Remasterers: Donal Whelan; Charlie Francis.
Recording information: Alaska (1985-1986); Berry Street Studios (1985-1986); Town & Country Club (1985-1986).
Photographers: Rosalind Kunath; Jason Hoffman; Paul Natkin.
This is Hitchcock's second album with The Egyptians. The band's performance proves that the touring they did prior to this recording helped shape their sound into a surprisingly cohesive force. ELEMENT OF LIGHT is a rich and powerful work that contains some strikingly evocative songs, such as the Lennon-like "Somewhere Apart," the nightscape poetics of "Raymond Chandler Evening," or the UK-meets-Muscle Shoals of "Ted, Woody And Junior."
The album's title comes from the song "Airscape," a gorgeously romantic five minutes of hypnotic words and music. The songcraft, mood and musicianship (The Egyptians were a band fully capable of taking the songwriter's varied compositions and playing them to new heights) make ELEMENT OF LIGHT crucial for Hitchcock fans, and an excellent starting point for those unfamiliar with this compelling artist.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Robyn Hitchcock

Product Info

  • UPC: 634457261624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)