Raheem DeVaughn The Love & War MasterPeace [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

The Love & War MasterPeace [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.8
28 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $17.97
Your Price: $16.17
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  JIV 763900
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 2, 2010
  • Label: Jive

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dr. Cornel West Intro
  • 2.Bulletproof
  • 3.Greatness, The - (featuring Wale)
  • 4.I Don't Care
  • 5.Black & Blue
  • 6.Mr. Right
  • 7.Dr. Cornel West Interlude
  • 8.Fragile
  • 9.My Wife
  • 10.B.O.B.
  • 11.Bedroom
  • 12.Microphone
  • 13.Garden of Love
  • 14.Dr. Cornel West P.S.A.
  • 15.Nobody Wins a War - (featuring Chico DeBarge / Citizen Cope / Chrisette Michele / Dwele / Jill Scott / Shelby Johnson / Ledisi / Anthony Hamilton / Rudy Currence / Bilal / Algebra)
  • 16.Revelations 2010 - (featuring Damian "Junior Gong" Marley)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dr. Cornel West Intro
  • 2.Wing and a Prayer
  • 3.Dr. Cornel West Interlude
  • 4.Super Hero
  • 5.Soldier Story
  • 6.Dr. Cornel West P.S.A.
  • 7.Hopeless Romantic
  • 8.Lose Control
  • 9.Calling Me
  • 10.XOXO
  • 11.Dr. Cornel West Outro

Product Description:

Recording information: Battery Studios, New York, NY; Crib Zeno Studios, Atlanta, GA; Face Studios, Fort Washington, MD; Kay-Dee Studios, Secaucus, NJ; Omega Studios, Maryland; Phase Recording & Media, White Plains, MD; The Hampton Studios, Sicklerville, NJ.
Photographer: Randee St. Nicholas.
Emboldened by Love Behind the Melody's crossover success, involving a Top Ten spot on the Billboard 200, a BET Award and two Grammy nominations, Raheem DeVaughn grants his third album a title that sounds (but does not necessarily look) arrogant. Despite the wordplay, DeVaughn did not mess around when it came to recording a set befitting a title as grand as The Love & War MasterPeace. There are plenty of love songs, naturally, and most of them are imaginative and excellent. Even when they slip into clever foolishness, as on "B.O.B." -- in which the protagonist testifies the many reasons why he would be preferable to a specific device -- they are strong in construction, much more about honoring the woman than the man's prowess, and DeVaughn's easy falsetto never sounds self-satisfied. On the socially conscious material, DeVaughn really lays into it all with a dedicated force that is potent musically and lyrically. Subtract Dr. Cornel West's recurring spots as hype man-slash-mood enhancer, and the album would still remain one of the most grippingly conscious major-label R&B albums of the last 30 years, featuring the Curtis Mayfield-channeling (and sampling) "Bulletproof," an alluringly morose opener, and the startling 13 minutes that make up the closers "Nobody Wins a War" (despite involving the input of nearly a dozen of DeVaughn's contemporaries, it is no wreck) and "Revelations 2010" (assisted by Damian Marley and a chorus of "They're out to bury me, they're out to bury you/And all you can do is arm yourself"). An expanded version adds over 45 minutes to the program, making the album clock in at nearly two hours. DeVaughn stretches out on the meditative "Soldier Story," inspired by a friend who returned from Iraq without legs, and "Lose Control," an 11-minute robo-funk workout. Most of these songs -- especially "Wing and a Prayer," featuring UGK's Bun B and a spine-tingling chorus -- should not be considered merely bonus content. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Raheem DeVaughn

Product Info:

  • UPC: 886976390020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items